We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing place!

We came here after we got off our ship and we enjoyed the time here and made it enjoyable watching... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2019
7700Someone
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
What a treat

The only working steamboat we've ever been on is on the Mississippi river. However what a treat on... read more

Reviewed 6 January 2019
A3303XQpaulh
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 215 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Southampton
from US$10.62
More Info
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
200
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
15
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engine room bournemouth air show southampton water steam ship bournemouth airshow volunteer crew jazz band friendly crew red arrows hour cruise amazing ship poole harbour cowes week round the island race run by volunteers well stocked bar cruise ships leaving
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

What a lovely vessel, experience and privilege to go out on Southampton water. Very friendly crew, lots of places to sit and get great views, drinks and snacks on board and a raffle was in place too! This was my second time on Shieldhall but first time going down the river.

Loved the horn sound exchange with the cruise ships and cargo ships, made your heart flutter. Thank you everyone for keeping this trip and vessel going.

If you haven’t been on board, make sure you put it in as a must do for 2019.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Wenders50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

A lovely afternoon out on the Sheildhall to wave bon voyage to a possy of liners leaving on their cruises. Much hooting and whistling and a few beers :-)
More or less full access to the ship - even bridge and engine room.
Wonderful to see such an historic piece of machinery in full working order and doing its job.
The crew couldn't have been more helpful and enthusiastic.
Many thanks for a great trip.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Mal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic day onboard with our cubs & scouts very interactive , finishing the day with a trip on the Hamble
Thank you for having us see you again

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank kieronbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We had the most amazing time. Everyone who worked on the ship were so helpful and friendly. I couldn't say anything bad about the day. Ship is full of history and the volunteers on board were so knowledgeable nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely be going back on another trip next year

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 100beverleyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Both days were fantastic. Anchored off Bournemouth to get the best of the Airshow. Going in and out of Poole Harbour with the scenery.

Dolphins at the harbour entrance on the way out of Poole towards Southampton. Passing both Old Harry and the Needles in one day. Having a steer of Shieldhall was a great bonus.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews