We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel, centrally located and with fantastic staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel, centrally located and with fantastic staff.”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was my first stay in a Premier Inn for a while and I was unsure of what to expect. You always need to balance a good value stay with the level of expectation. This hotel far exceeded my expectations. From my first interaction I found all of the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The entire hotel was spotlessly clean and very well maintained.
Simon on the reception when I arrived was excellent and very efficient. I particularly liked that the lifts were monitored by a room key, I had high hopes that would keep noise to a minimum late at night and I was right. The room was very well appointed and again spotless. There was a nice sofa as well as the double bed. Plenty of room to relax and put luggage etc. The bathroom had a very powerful shower and a nice big mirror and sink space.
The hotel is very new (within a year of opening) so I don't know how it would compare in terms of standards to an older Premier Inn but I would be happy to try a different hotel based on the standards at West Quay.
I was in Southampton on a shopping trip as I live outside of the UK so didn't have friends with me. I was going to venture out for dinner but after a long day, decided to eat in the restaurant attached to the hotel. Again I was very surprised by the quality of the food and the waitress, Amy, was again very pleasant and couldn't do enough to help. I had steak which was a little tough but other than that the meal was very good. There was a Meal Deal 2 courses for £12.50 which I thought was very good value.

Room Tip: One at the back would probably be quieter as it doesn't overlook the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyWhizz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,184
    649
    146
    42
    37
See reviews for
581
833
83
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

First time at this Premier Inn - new, clean, fresh. Very friendly & helpful staff - better than most. Suprisingly close to shops - within walking distance. Discounted car parking in multi-storey. Suprised bar had closed at 11.30 - expected it to be open until midnight at the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for opposite side to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindagshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Have stayed in lots of Premier Inns, why pay more?? So funny, looked for it on Google maps and couldn't find it as it's so new. Parking just round the corner, think it was £7.50 for 24 hours (not the multi storey, the one near the swimming pool). No view to be had, but we went for R&R. If you like shopping it is right on your door step, if you like history it is right on your door step. The rooms are always the same, lovely comfy bed and clean. We ate in the restaurant, very nicely decorated,inexpensive and friendly staff. Breakfast is late - up to 10.30am on a Saturday (I think?). Absolutely no complaints. Why make life complicated!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeYuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Clean, comfortable, everything worked, lovely breakfast.Handy for station and shops.Value for money.Would always use Premier Inn but this is probably the best I've been to but that's probably because it is quite new.

Helpful?
Thank thecakefairy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A great hotel close to the cruise port(10 minute walk or 2 minute taxi). Nice restaurant and lovely cosy rooms.

Very helpful staff

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_Maxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geordie in Brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is conveniently located in the town centre, only a few minutes walk to IKEA, West Quay etc. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Great buffet-style breakfast, which couldn't be faulted. The room and bathroom were lovely and clean. I would recommend this Premier Inn to any family, couple or business traveller.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s1ndy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatherleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have always liked Premier Inn for a cheap place to stay en route to somewhere or for work. However recently they seemed to have got better, and this was certainly the case at West Quay. The reception by the staff was really welcoming, and quick. The room was immaculately clean, and seemed to be recently refurbished.
Breakfast was fine, again with helpful and polite staff. The only slight gripe I have is that there is no parking on site - there is a drop of zone with a few spaces apparently reserved for staff. There is a Disabled Parking bay which we used (legitimately) but found a note on the car the next morning advising us that there was no parking on site. Either the signage needs to be made more clear for this space - saying it is for disabled staff only, or the person placing the notes on the cars needs to check for disabled badges....I have never come across a Disabled Bay that is not for disabled badge holders.
All in all a nice overnight stay - pity Travelodge does not seem to be pulling its socks up to the same extent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank modelbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
804 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Address: 96 Harbour Parade | West Quay, Southampton SO15 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton West Quay Premier Inn is ideally located near the Southampton Cruise and ferry Terminals, only a short walk away. Southampton's West Quay Shopping centre is directly across the road.The Southampton train station and national express coach station is less then half a mile away and by road there is easy access to the M27 and M3 giving an easy commute to Paultons Park and Pepper Pig World.Our Southampton West Quay Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing