We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at West Quay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice stay at West Quay”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night over Easter - staff really helpful & friendly & they were giving out free Easter eggs for the kids so that was a nice touch.
We had a family room which was spacious & clean with tea & coffee making facilities.
We used the restaurant for dinner & breakfast - both were fine & reasonably priced. One tip though - if you're travelling with young children it's probably advisable to book a table for dinner in advance, we didn't do this & ended up with quite a long wait & 2 starving children!
All in all nice hotel & would stay again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Getty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    657
    149
    43
    39
See reviews for
591
848
83
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmpt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at this Premier Inn at the beginning of April. It is brilliantly situated at the West Quay. Fair enough not in a very picturesque setting but brilliant for shopping. Right at the back of the West Quay shopping Centre. Literally next door to Ikea and lots of Restaurants and Cinema in walking distance. The room was very clean; bed and service were also very good. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on the food. We went across to Ikea and ate there for a fraction of the price. Perfect for our 3 year old as there was lots of things to play with and we could eat our breakfast in peace and quiet.
Would definitely recommend this Premier Inn!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloydFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights before a cruise. Very clean and meals good. Slight noise from air conditioning unit which woke hubby and I several times. Would definately book again as location is very good.

Room Tip: Previous rooms have been fine but we had room 217 this time and the air con was noisy intermittently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here in April 2012, planning to use the hotel just as a base for a bit of touring. What a pleasant surprise the hotel was! Very friendly staff, clean and roomy family room, with a decent size bathroom, and a good enough breakfast for not too much more cash.
Evening meal in the restaurant was tasty if not "gourmet", but there's also a bar for a nightcap!
Although there is no parking at the hotel the multi-story right next door isn't too expensive and is locked overnight for security.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuernseyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

If you want comfort and excellent service at a budget price you cannot go wrong staying
at this Premier Inn. Staff acted so proffesionally. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. No traffic noise at night as there so often is in budget chains. Very tasty breakfast with
a good deal of choice. Restaurant staff all very helpful. Good meal deal for evening meal, three courses with a drink and breakfast the next morning for £22.00. Adjustable heating and aircon in the room. When i was asked on their survey what i would improve , i could not think of anything. If you like shopping , a large shopping centre nearby. Excellent location also if going on a cruise and want an overnight stay. Internet cost of room for two nights was £78.00

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suesjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes Isle of Wight
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The title says it all
Couldn't want for a cleaner friendlier hotel so close to city centre

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This Premier Inn is relatively new so is a touch more fresh and pleasant than your standard Premier Inn fare, but there were a few niggles.

Firstly the positive - it is conveniently located close to the West Quay shopping centre; the reception staff are very friendly and helpful (though you're encouraged to do a self-check-in, they will assist you with it). Some reviewers have mentioned the noise from the busy road outside the front of the hotel though I have to say that we didn't notice this. And there is free wifi for half an hour if you register, but...

Now the niggles... we registered for the free wifi but couldn't get it to connect properly before the half hour expired. The tv didn't work properly, or worked spasmodically. We understand that the area is going through the digital switchover and this may account for the problem. Parking is £5 which is fair enough, but the arrangements should be explained at the time of booking so that this is clear. We only knew about it from reading previous Tripadvisor reviews. Also, once we'd parked in the multi-story it took us ages to work out the pedestrian route out to the hotel (there were no directions or notices in the lifts, even as to which floor to exit at) and although we did get there in the end I'm sure we didn't get it right as we finished up having to walk along the car exit, which was a bit of a hassle with our bags, etc. Lastly, there was a mix-up over the breakfasts. We had booked one full breakfast online as I didn't want any breakfast myself and the website wouldn't allow me to book a continental breakfast for my husband. When we arrived in the room the information provided showed that continental breakfasts were available so I phoned reception to ask them to downgrade the breakfast from full to continental. It was only when I checked the invoice on my return home that I realised that they'd charged an extra full breakfast before changing both of them to continental. So we'd been charged for two breakfasts when we'd only had one. After two attempts at contacting them (their head office was useless) it was sorted out, but this was rather annoying.

We ate in the on-site restaurant as we had had a long day travelling and didn't fancy going out. As much of the food on people's plates looked very "brown" I decided to have a salad but it was probably a bad choice as it wasn't very good. My husband's gammon and egg was better, but overall it wasn't a great meal.

Oh dear, this all sounds more negative than I'd intended. Yes, there were a few niggles but mostly they were minor in relation to the good standards of the room and friendly helpful staff, so please don't be put off. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bohawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Address: 96 Harbour Parade | West Quay, Southampton SO15 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#2 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton West Quay Premier Inn is ideally located near the Southampton Cruise and ferry Terminals, only a short walk away. Southampton's West Quay Shopping centre is directly across the road.The Southampton train station and national express coach station is less then half a mile away and by road there is easy access to the M27 and M3 giving an easy commute to Paultons Park and Pepper Pig World.Our Southampton West Quay Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing