We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all rounder!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

It's all been said in the other reviews - very friendly staff, great comfy and clean rooms, the location is fantastic for the ferries. It also has interconnecting rooms which can be reserved in advance - which is great for families. Half an hours free wifi included. Above all, it was exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,177)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,970 - 1,976 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Came to Southampton for Cunard's Royal Rendez-Vous of the 3 Queens as part of the Diamond Jubilee celebrations and was happily surprised to find a room here at 44 £.
It is a budget hotel chain but I was quite impressed by their standard :
- very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff
- you can check in your self at the kiosk
- rooms are rather big (have had much smaller rooms at some 4*/5* hotels!)
- very clean, including bathroom
- you can select the extra's you want/need like breakfast, newspaper, other meals, internet
- it is not really downtown but I think most visitors staying overnight in Southampton are coming off or going on a ship ... so all terminals are within walking distance and if you have too much luggage to carry, just hail a taxi, it will cost you about 5-8 £
- the hotel is next a big shopping Mall, with a food court (all usual international brands)

Maybe just 2 minor suggestions :
- foresee in the room at least one special plug for overseas visitors (in the meantime you can ask one from reception... or bring your own of course!)
- breakfast choice could just be upgraded to a couple of extra continental touches like some cold cuts (ham, cheese, ...) for those who are not that keen of the classical English breakfast

Overall, it remains an excellent value for money and for sure, if I need an hotel in Southampton in the future, I'll definitely start by checking price/availability first at Premier Inn West Quay

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matsounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Last year I wrote a rather underwhelming review of another Premier Inn, this time things could not be more different. We used this new Inn as an overnight before boarding our cruise the next day.

Location: Close to all the cruise terminals.
Staff: Efficient, ultra friendly.
Room: Clean, spacious and more than adequate.
Restaurant: Probably the best meal we have had in any hotel in the last 3 years, absolutely superb. We had the Dinner and breakfast deal which is well worth it.
Parking: In the multi story, £5 for 24 hours. Very secure, no problem as they have a large luggage drop off point.

In short there is nothing negative to say about staff, accomodation or food. Fantastic.

Room Tip: Perhaps select a rear facing room as the road at the front does get noisy. It didn't bother us b...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Ideally placed for the West Quay shopping centre, the harbour & city centre, this PI is only about a year old & definitely has a modern feel to it. Rooms conform to the PI standard & are clean, quiet & comfortable. This PI has its own restaurant, rather than an attached pub as many of them do. Looked a fairly varied menu with a £22 value selection available which limited choice to certain items for 3 courses but included breakfast. I only had breakfast here & that was good & very comprehensive at £8.25 for all you can eat. They only have a limited number of parking spaces for blue badge holders, so parking is in the multi story next door at £5 per 24 hours. Note that this didn't allow you to come in & out within that 24 hours. You are allowed to drop off/collect your luggage right outside the back door before parking up.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolonela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were travelling to the Isle of Wight on the ferry the next day. This Premier Inn is excellent value for money. The staff are both helpful and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are large, comfortable, spotlessly clean and best of all they are quiet. The location is perfect for the city centre and the docks. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the variety of choice and the menu costs were very good value indeed and we will eat there the next time we stay. We would recommend this hotel, it's much better value than some of the more expensive hotels in Southampton and we plan to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Being with the kids we had booked a family room as usual for our Premier Inn stays. We arrived quite late (circa 2100hrs) after a great day at the seaside in Bournemouth, but were told on arrival that they were "just sorting out some more family rooms". On reaching our allocated room it hadn't been set up as a family room and we had to call reception who promptly sent someone to do it. Seems there had been some problem earlier on in the evening causing some upset to the room allocations. Bit disappointing as it meant the kids didn't get to bed as quickly as we'd liked, but it was all sorted out in the end. Other than this quibble there were no gripes, just the usual comfy beds and spotlessly clean room. Tip: It's about a 10 min walk from Southampton Central station, but the free CityLink bus stops at the West Quay shopping centre from where it's only a 2 min walk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I enjoy staying at Premier Inn for a good value night in a consistent and clean environment. Something that West Quay Premier Inn excels at it is the excellent and personal customer service from it's staff. A well manned and friendly reception, efficient and friendly bar staff.

I had a couple of small issues which could have been dealt with better. My room was missing a TV Remote and had cigarette ash on the carpet (despite being a non-smoking hotel) when I phoned reception they said that someone would be up to the room right away, they didn't arrive after over an hour so I called again to request a new room. The girl on reception said they had been busy and didn't have an available room (even though this was mid-afternoon). Within minutes a member of housekeeping arrived with a TV Remote and cleared the ash - telling me to use the air on to clear the smoke smell!

The restaurant seemed to have issues dealing with everyone in a timely manner, the manager was very apologetic and obviously suffering from the efficiency of the rest of the team. Despite this when the food was served it was fine. You can also eat from the full menu in the bar, the staff there are very friendly and cooperative.

The West Quay Premier Inn is in a great location, just cross the road to the West Quay Shopping Centre or a 2 minute walk to Mayflower Park. A great location for a reasonably priced pre-cruise night from any of the docks.

Other than the above, the room was clean and in good condition. I will definitely stay here again on my regular visits to Southampton, the friendly staff really make it. Although I personally prefer a more formal hotel the night before boarding a ship.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Jack5764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel

Address: Harbour Parade | West Quay, Southampton SO15 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#2 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £53 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton West Quay Premier Inn is ideally located near the Southampton Cruise and ferry Terminals, only a short walk away. Southampton's West Quay Shopping centre is directly across the road.The Southampton train station and national express coach station is less then half a mile away and by road there is easy access to the M27 and M3 giving an easy commute to Paultons Park and Pepper Pig World.Our Southampton West Quay Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing