We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a Southampton Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Portreath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location for a Southampton Cruise”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We used this hotel in order to meet our cruise ship the following day.

The welcome was good, the room was its usual high standard as was the food in the restaurant. The only downside was the parking as the hotel does not have any. However this was not a problem as located right next to the hotel in a multi storey car park. The rate was £5 for the 24 hour period.

Would I use this again....most definitely.

Thanks

Room Tip: There are no rooms of particular interest. They overlook a car park or a road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenners-2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    649
    146
    42
    38
See reviews for
581
833
83
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel for the Cowes week sailing event. The hotel staff were friendly! The room was very clean and the air conditioning was very helpful as it was quite warm when we stayed.
Their famous good night guarantee is very reassuring and gives peace of mind.
Very nice position next to the West Quay shopping centre,
Overall another great stay at a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirFrancesDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I'm usually happy to stay in Premier Inns and have probably notched up around 20 different ones around the UK. Unfortunately this particular one was one of the worst, the other being the one in Swansea city centre.
I’ve summed up the good and the bad bits of this hotel below.

The good points:

• The location of the hotel was central for Southampton city centre and easy to walk to the shops, restaurants and the old town. A 6 or 7 minute walk gets you to the cruise liner port.
• Effective air-con. It was a boiling hot day and to have this in our room was so appreciated.
• The bed was lovely and comfortable and fortunately we did enjoy a good night’s sleep.

The really not so good bits:

• The first thing we noticed was the huge area to the front of the hotel...but very few parking spaces. The ones for customers can only be used for 30 minutes then the car must be moved off-site. There is a large multi-storey car park right next door which leads right into the shops and 24 hours parking is just £5. The main area in front of the hotel is mostly grassed (sadly all dead and scruffy looking at the moment). They could so easily get rid of this and create many more parking spaces...put it to better use than landscaping with unsightly dead grass!
• Although check-in was functional and efficient it was not particularly friendly. And being it was a particularly hot day, I was surprised that the male receptionist who served us had forgotten to apply his deodorant that morning to the point that I had to walk away towards the lifts whilst my husband finalised the check-in...a most unpleasant ‘welcome’ for sure!!!
• To add insult to injury, upon entering our room we were immediately hit with the stale smell emanating from the bathroom! That smelly unwashed shower curtain smell that Premier Inn don’t seem to have ever resolved (replace them with toughened glass screens maybe??!!)
• The room was generally quite clean and thankfully the bed was as crisp and white as expected/hoped! But there was a very strange large stain high up on the plastic headboard. I can only describe it as looking like somebody had thrown a wet tea-bag at it!!! No biggy I decided but I still felt I needed to get my wipes out and scrub it off it for my benefit! Whoever cleaned that room must have done so in a real hurry because it was quite obvious to see and really should not have been left there.
• The net curtain rail (in the room not bathroom) fell down every time we looked out of the window as it was held up so loosely between the framework! We kept forgetting and every time we touched it we ended up shrouded in net curtain! It gave us a few good laughs but surely they must know by now that this happens as I bet it’s been left pulled down many times before. We politely put it back up before leaving so my apologies to the next room occupant as I bet it fell on your head too!
• The liquid soap dispenser near the shower simply did not work! We ended up having to remove it from the holder and forcing the gel out drop by drop...annoying that it wasn’t checked as working properly beforehand.
• There is no grab-rail to help with getting in and out of the bath (incidentally, why Premier Inn still insist on installing baths not showers beats me!) It is not easy to get in and out of the bath with nothing to hold onto especially when it’s slippery after a shower; surprising it’s not standard installation really with so much health and safety talk flying around these days!
• There is no shaver 2 pin point in the bathroom but to be fair the receptionist told us upon checking out that they do have them to lend out (though they don’t tell you this before you’re stripped down to your birthday suit and not really in a position to nip down to get one!
• When we had our showers in the morning the water was barely warm. My husband said to let it run for longer but it simply would not get warmer (coupled with trying to squeeze drops of liquid soap out one by one it was just frustrating and annoying). Hubby found this out too when it was his turn! Thank goodness it wasn’t winter as it would have been unbearable! We checked out soon afterwards and mentioned it to the receptionist (a different man to check-in). He admitted there was a problem with the water heating system that morning and an engineer had been called. Unfortunately he didn’t offer any apology...in fact quite the contrary as he thought it was funny when we said we’d had to suffer cold showers!!! In my opinion even the offer of a £10 voucher towards our next stay would have gone down much better than hearing his amusement at the situation. Consequently we didn’t bother telling him all our other complaints...

All in all a disappointing stay but glad it was just for the 1 night. My husband uses Premier Inns all over the UK for business around 2 to 3 nights a month. He said that because we were so disappointed in the service we received at this hotel, he will only be using the other PI in Southampton when he needs to re-visit this city in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for only one night, but had a lovely stay.
Really peaceful, quiet night with no noise from inside or outside the hotel.
Excellent breakfast the next morning.......lots of choice, all very tasty and enough options to please all of us.
Knew the issue with car parking prior to arriving and we were pleased to discover that we only had to pay £3 for the overnight car parking.
Shane on reception was especially good; he was friendly, welcoming and made us feel at home.
A real asset to the company!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcbd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I had a business stayover in Southampton and was booked into the PI at West Quay. Parking is in the multistorey next door - it took a while to get out. You need to find your way back to the pedestrian part of the entrance rather than the West Quay shops exit. It was a bit of a yomp back to the car park - but there's a drop off area at the PI. Parking costs £5 overnight.

Check in was with the touch screens and the chap in reception was helpful. The room was well up to the PI brand standards. The site is next door to the shopping centre open until 8pm. The hotel is a couple of years old. The room was in the newer layout with a decent desk with lots of power points plus a Power point at the side of the bed to charge your mobile overnight while using it for an alarm.

The restaurant is part of the Thyme brand which is a featured in the PI city centre sites. Service was absolutely fine although the dinner menu wasn't particularly varied.

Well up to PI standards and convenient for shops and the docks. The New Forest is also well within range.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainSlog1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for one night and, being Premier ' virgins', were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience.
No, they do not have parking, but there is 24 hr parking at the adjacent West Quay multi storey ( £5 for 24 hrs), get your ticket validated at the hotel.
The staff were all excellent, as was the food at breakfast.......wish we had eaten here the previous evening!
We had drinks in the bar, reasonably priced, and relaxed in the lounge area.
When we visit the area again, our stay will be here!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VicGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higashikagura-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from everything in the central area including the railway station, the quay where ferries and cruise liners depart from and the Titanic museum. The West Quay shopping centre is literally across the road and the IKEA store is next door. I stayed two nights and the first night I ate in the hotel restaurant where reservations are necessary since it does get very busy. The fajitas were mediocre at best but the service was good and the drinks were nice. The second evening I walked 5 minutes and went to the TGI Friday`s where the food was much better and just about the same price as the hotel restaurant.

The property is new so the rooms were very good and the usual Premier Inn type rooms. I would certainly choose to stay in the same hotel again when I am in Southampton.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianinJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Address: 96 Harbour Parade | West Quay, Southampton SO15 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#2 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton West Quay Premier Inn is ideally located near the Southampton Cruise and ferry Terminals, only a short walk away. Southampton's West Quay Shopping centre is directly across the road.The Southampton train station and national express coach station is less then half a mile away and by road there is easy access to the M27 and M3 giving an easy commute to Paultons Park and Pepper Pig World.Our Southampton West Quay Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing