We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

we have stayed in many premier inns before all over the uk, this is not the best but not the worst,paying for parking and a very tiny eating area lets this one down but being close to southampton west quay shopping centre is the only plus in our eyes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,612 - 1,618 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

I booked this hotel for a trip to Peppa Pig Land with my 3 children. Premier Inn had a sale so I booked 2 nights for just over £100. It was a perfect location, 5 mins walk to the main shopping centre with a variety of shops and restaurants, and an unbelievable 15-20 min journey to Peppa Pig Land. I couldnt believe it was so close.

The family room was just big enough for all of us and the breakfast was so conveniant and excellent value with the kids eating free.

We will definately visit again, and use a base to discover more of the South Coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We hit the outlet stores at Portsmouth and then decided to stay the night at Premier Inn Southampton West Quay for the night before travelling down to the west country.

Be aware there are 2 Premier Inns in Southampton ~ on no account use the other one.
We stopped there first in error and were SO relieved that it wasn't the one we had booked.
There was no parking (everyone was moaning to the poor receptionists about the fact they had had to walk half a mile with luggage as the drop off area was fit to bursting) & it was in a dreadful area.

So, it was a real relief when we pulled up to West Quay ~ an oasis of calm, adjacent to a clearly newish shopping centre, Whilst there was no on site parking there was a large adjacent car park

The rooms were clean and welcoming ~ the bathroom was spotless which is always my benchmark of a hotel ~ and the double and 2 extra singles fitted easily.

Breakfast the next morning was of a really high quality, freshly prepared and with Costa coffee!
Lots of young waiting staff, all friendly and helpful
An older lady seemed to be in charge and although she was really busy she could not have been more helpful, I wish I had made a note of her name but she was brilliant & a real credit to the hotel! As we drove off I saw her supervising deliveries so obviously she is a key to the smooth running of this hotel!

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night as we had booked another place in Weymouth for the next two days which had been well reviewed but was possibly the worst 'hotel' (and I use the word advisedly) I have ever been in. After seeing the room and even though it cost us nearly £300 for the 2 nights we decided not to stay! We certainly wished that we had simply chosen to stay longer at Premier Inn West Quay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolcevita-italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The staff provided excellent hospitality, friendliness and helpfulness. The attached restaurant provided good food, well prepared, with extremely friendly and attentive service. A nice bar/cocktail lounge was adjacent. The room was spacious by European standards, quiet and immaculately clean. The bed was comfortable. It is located conveniently in the Southampton 'Old Town' area. It is a seven minute walk from the National Express bus terminal and about a ten minute walk to the Southampton Central Railway Terminal. It is within sight of the Cruise Terminal. It is directly across the street from the very large and modern West Quay mall. It is in the top rank of budget hotels in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2gators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

myself, husband and 2 children under 6years stayed in a family room for 3 nights (9th-12th aug) and honestly had a brill stay, the beds were super comfy, and the rooms big enough for us all.
we had booked breakfast for all 3 days and it was lovely, decent bacon/sausages (unlike a lot of help yourself breakfast buffets) location wise it is literally opposite the red funnel docks for isle of wight access, the huge shopping centre is a 5 min walk away.
the only downside to this fab hotel is the car park, and the price of £5 for overnight stay, i can imagine a longer stay this could be an un wanted extra cost, also its a bit of a hassle if you have kids to drag them to the top floor of the car park.
overall a great sleep and i would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedroponycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed one night and had a lovely visit. The hotel is next to the west quay shopping center not the harbor front. There's a big drop off area around the back, not the little pull in at the front. Staff were really friendly, especially Aggie the receptionist who couldn't do enough and was really engaging with our two children. Rooms were clean and fresh, quiet at night for a city center. Air conditioning too...we ate in the restaurant snd the food and service were fabulous...again breakfast the next morning was lovely, lots of choices. All in all a great stay, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmil29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We used this hotel in order to meet our cruise ship the following day.

The welcome was good, the room was its usual high standard as was the food in the restaurant. The only downside was the parking as the hotel does not have any. However this was not a problem as located right next to the hotel in a multi storey car park. The rate was £5 for the 24 hour period.

Would I use this again....most definitely.

Thanks

Room Tip: There are no rooms of particular interest. They overlook a car park or a road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenners-2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#12 of 25 in Southampton
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel

Address: 96 Harbour Parade | West Quay, Southampton SO15 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#2 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton West Quay Premier Inn is ideally located near the Southampton Cruise and ferry Terminals, only a short walk away. Southampton's West Quay Shopping centre is directly across the road.The Southampton train station and national express coach station is less then half a mile away and by road there is easy access to the M27 and M3 giving an easy commute to Paultons Park and Pepper Pig World.Our Southampton West Quay Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing