We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Basic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a very basic hotel. Its strong points are that the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The attached restaurant is good and the location is great, right in the center of the shopping area. Its weak points are that it is missing many of the items we are accustomed to. No phones in the rooms, no toiletries except some dispenser dispersed soaps, no irons or boards, no face cloths, bar frigs, no notepaper or pens etc. There were also no ice machines so you had to go to the bar to get ice.

Its worse point was noise level. We were sleep-deprived from our transatlantic flight and were continually awakened by street noise as we were on the street side and when the casino and bars closed it was extremely noisy. Fights went on right under our window. Closing the window made it better but then we were overheated. Ask for a room away from the main road

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJH1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,534 - 1,540 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

This be another fine ship in the fleet of Premier Inn. Good service and good food. Late opening restaurant at 6pm but shiver me taste-buds the grog flows all day. Near to the shops, near to the ships and nearish to the station 5-10 min walk depending on yer peg legs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I am usually quick to give poor reviews but this hotel was so excellent, I have to share my first class experience. From the cleanliness, to the comfort of the rooms and the staff. Top class. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I travel to Southampton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottsLoobyLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I normally choose to stay in Mercure hotels but chose the Premier Inn due to its good review. I was pleasantly surprised by the room which was spacious, clean and in a quiet location. The bathroom was modern and clean. The restaurant was good and all staff were helpful and professional. . We parked at the multi-storey car park for £5 a day opposite the hotel which is good deal. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

An excellent stopover. Great pre cruise destination. Great parking option at the time of our booking of £5 per day in the multi storey directly behind. Also worth a mention a HUGE shopping centre also directly behind.
Hassle free check in and out very easy. Great quality staff. Modern deco. Bouncy carpets! Great restaurant with an excellent deal of a three course dinner a glass of something and breakfast. No silly early departures. Altogether a great value boutique hotel. I will certainly use them again! The only downside for me was the bed was too bouncy and I didn't sleep well, but I will let them have that as a) I never mentioned it and didn't give them the chance to do anything b) everything else was superb. I must say I am generally quick to point out a problem so perhaps not an easy audience, this is not feint praise - well done Premier Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived around nine on Thursday evening, unloaded and went to our room where our little one loved the bed, we had a drink that night and a enjoyable stay. Breakfast was pleasant and would def return pre cruise again! Staff are friendly too!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Whiteworxracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My daughter & I went to Southampton to visit my son studying at Southampton Solent, so we had a choice of 2 Premier Inns, I decided on this one as it was nearer to the West Quay shopping centre & was newer. Price of £75 for a twin for a Saturday night was reasonable. Room clean & a good size. I have deducted one star as there is no separate shower, the one over the bath was usable though not ideal or enjoyable. As always the pillows were excellent & beds comfortable. There was air conditioning & adequate well thought out storage for an overnight stay Check-in & out was super efficient. We were impressed by the hotel's security & parking arrangements. £5 for 24 hours parking in the West Quay multi-storey was an added bonus as I had paid £4 for 1 hour at the car park adjacent to Asda when first taking my son to university last month! There were vending machines opposite the lifts for snacks, drinks & icecreams which as a type 1 diabetic was reassuring. The location is very convenient for the shops & restaurants in the West Quay area, & about 15 minutes walk to the Southampton Solent University & halls of residence. I will definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the empty plot of land are quiet, awful view but that is irrelevant for an overnight st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#12 of 25 in Southampton
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel

Address: 96 Harbour Parade | West Quay, Southampton SO15 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton West Quay Premier Inn is ideally located near the Southampton Cruise and ferry Terminals, only a short walk away. Southampton's West Quay Shopping centre is directly across the road.The Southampton train station and national express coach station is less then half a mile away and by road there is easy access to the M27 and M3 giving an easy commute to Paultons Park and Pepper Pig World.Our Southampton West Quay Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing