We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible !!”
Review of Panda

Panda
Ranked #506 of 859 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible !!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Turned up asking for table for 10, no problem they said. Obviously a problem for them. Waited 20 minutes before being asked for drinks. Another 15mins to get drinks after constantly reminding staff we were still sat there waiting. Over an hour later we were brought a starter. Staff seemed to be runnuing around more concerned with the take away queue. After 1 hr 45 mins we decided enough was enough, and told them we were leaving, can we have our bill. Unsuprisingly there was a young couple behind me doing exactly the same. They could not even keep 2 people satisfied let alone 10. Live and learn. Never again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mab186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too much msg”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Had a burning sensation from the MSG...

Need to drink lots of water afterwards...

Otherwise good and tasty.

Try cooking without msg., but chicken stock...,

Helpful?
Thank leculinaryexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great food”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

food was amazing, service was great, the place is very family friendly ,the price is very good value for money , good location, and a wide choice of meal varieties and menu options, frieendly staff !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buffy113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese takeaway in Southampton”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We regularly visit Panda and have done for years. It's staff and atmosphere are friendly and inviting, and the food is consistently lovely. Would highly recommend the Kung Po Chicken, and the Chicken Chow Mein is delicious. This place has been going strong for years and we wouldn't dream of going anywhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Gem on Bedford Place”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Bedford Place is a great place to start if you're in Southampton looking for a restaurant. Panda is one of the best Chinese restaurants I know. It's not too flash on the outside, but the food is superb. Like most Chinese restaurants in the UK, it's Cantonese style. A good clue to its standard is the number of chinese customers it attracts. We've eaten there many times, and this time it was to treat our daughters for their birthday. We made the right choice. Great service, great food and all the choices we want to see. Everything fresh and well-prepared. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panda also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing