We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cricketers Inn

Cricketers Inn
Ranked #124 of 846 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lorenzo & Dianne welcome you to the Cricketers Inn. Set in the heart of the beautiful Meon Valley, this serene setting, with a lovely spacious garden, is sure to provide the perfect spot for an al fresco lunch or cosy evening meal beside the log fire. Our chef's freshly prepared menu is served daily for both lunch and dinner, along with our innovative selection of wines, ales and lagers. Whether it's a quick bite or a meal with friends and family, we aim to cater for all occasions. Our in house 'Daily Specials' board always has a vast array of fresh fish and meat dishes, these include a complimenting dessert board.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Visited this pub on Friday I had the chicken breast with garlic bacon sauce and lyonnaise potatoes. Food was lovely and there was a great atmosphere in the pub, quite quiet for a Friday lunch but still a good atmosphere would recommend anyone to try it if you have never been.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    67
    24
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I visit this pub regularly, it seems to be getting better and better every month, there is a fantastic, upbeat and helpful team there and the food is brilliant. Gone are the days of being able to just walk in an get something to eat at weekends, booking is almost definitely essential! Fantastic pub getting better, keep up the hard work!

Helpful?
1 Thank Happydiner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but can get very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nice food, can get really busy. But defo worth the wait. Menu changes all the time which is nice be sure to check out both menu boards not just the one. Deserts are the best in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lianne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice food terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The food was very nice but waiting an hour for my main course just isn't on. We arrived at 2pm on a Sunday so hardly peak arrival time either.

If i was guaranteed better service I would go back but as that won't happen I will go somewhere else. Shame.

Helpful?
Thank adpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a retiree lunch. Plenty of easy parking, welcoming staff and no music to drown conversations. The meals took a while to arrive but we were in no hurry and they were happy to accommodate all our special dietary requirements. The mains were nice and hot and very tasty and the puddings were especially delicious. Would thoroughly recommend as they are off the main road and therefore cannot rely on passing trade.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cricketers Inn also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Shedfield, Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Cricketers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing