We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

The Haywain Crown Carveries
Ranked #393 of 850 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The place to go for a good carvery meal- under £4 during the week and under £7 on sunday. Good size meat portions of turkey, ham, beef or pork and help yourself to a nice selection of vegetables including cauliflower cheese. The drinks are also reasonably priced. The only downside is that it's so popular, it's always crowded and noisy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Forestdruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    74
    51
    28
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gordon Ramsey where are you?”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you like low quality half cold food, unfriendly staff, and dirty tables; plus eating with people whose plates are piled to overflowing then this is the place for you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mothering Sunday meal 2014”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very tasty food with a decent menu range,especially for veggie options. Although it was understandably a busy day, we arrived just before 5pm and only waited a couple of minutes for a table .The staff were all very helpful, pleasant and cheerful. Quick, efficient service all round .We all enjoyed our menu choices ,particularly the desserts ! : ) Free glass of wine for the mums was a nice treat which rounded off a fantastic day with the family. We will return I'm sure .They also do a takeaway service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz_L_40_214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

this is the best carveries that we have found. the staff we plesent and the food brilliant. It is nice to find a place that dose good vegetable as well as meat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We often eat here for breakfasts and its well worth the money. Staff not the happiest of people though but worth going there for the breakfasts

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lailey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Haywain Crown Carveries also viewed

 

Been to The Haywain Crown Carveries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing