We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland & Tasteless”

The Haywain Crown Carveries
Ranked #392 of 850 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bland & Tasteless”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited this pub for their Sunday carvery. I don't expect miracles for £8.00 but I can't remember when I had a more tasteless meal. If I had been blindfolded, I would have had no idea what I was actually eating. The meat all looked very nice and the portions were generous but having chosen the beef, my first mouthful was deeply disappointing. It had a very bizarre consistency as though it had been heavily processed (like packet ham) - almost as though it had been treated in some way to stop it being tough and there was absolutely no flavour whatsoever - apart from the taste of the gravy which could certainly do with a bit more 'kick'. The roast potatoes were an very unappetising shade of off-white with no browned or crispy bits - in fact they were no more exciting than boiled potatoes. The vegetables were passable apart from a dish that looked as though it should be cauliflower cheese but again, had no flavour and sadly, no cheese sauce - I guess they simply brown the top of it under a grill tomake it look more interesting. The only acceptable part of the meal was the yorkshire pudding (straight out of the freezer). It might be cheap here but it is certianly not good value for money. Simply adding some seasoning to the food would transport it into another league.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BubblesSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    74
    51
    28
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Get there early”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The carvery is good value Mon to Sat and fresh at 12 so get there early. When it gets busy the queue can snake around tables which is not ideal. The serving area is just not big enough really. Also, the tables and chairs need a clean! Plenty of parking and friendly staff when we visited on a Saturday at 12 noon.

If you like to pile your plate up high, this is the place for you, else avoid if this offends you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank djcarlos2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Xmas dinner amazing”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Came for Xmas dinner, on Xmas day. have visited many pubs across the new forest for Xmas dinner and I found this one stood out "even though I'm not a fan of there usual carvery" table service was amazing stopped by every five minuets to make sure everything was ok and we all had drinks.. You didn't feel they had packed the pub out as much as possible as I have with others where I couldn't move. Was just there normal seating arrangement. Food was great starters and deserts we're all bought to the table well presented and I thought good food for £45 a head on Xmas day especially compared to other pub Xmas dinners I've had that are normally better than the haywain on a normal day. We went up to the usual carvery table for our main meals, great selection. Meat wasn't dry as I had sometimes found there.. Had a great day and all my family also did. Would defiantly go back for Xmas dinner and recommend to anyone else.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The place to go for a good carvery meal- under £4 during the week and under £7 on sunday. Good size meat portions of turkey, ham, beef or pork and help yourself to a nice selection of vegetables including cauliflower cheese. The drinks are also reasonably priced. The only downside is that it's so popular, it's always crowded and noisy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Forestdruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gordon Ramsey where are you?”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you like low quality half cold food, unfriendly staff, and dirty tables; plus eating with people whose plates are piled to overflowing then this is the place for you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Haywain Crown Carveries also viewed

 

Been to The Haywain Crown Carveries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing