We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful toilets”
Review of Malvern Tavern

Malvern Tavern
Ranked #249 of 861 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Description: A friendly local pub with a wide selection of food and drink. Sky & BT sport across 5 TVs Dart board, pool table, and jukebox
Restaurant details
Description: A friendly local pub with a wide selection of food and drink. Sky & BT sport across 5 TVs Dart board, pool table, and jukebox
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disgraceful toilets”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our last visit the toilets were blocked and door missing off one cubicle , gave them the benefit of the doubt that it was just a one off on returning today was absoulutely disgusted to see that they are stiill blocked and filthy nothing has changed in the few weeks inbetween and one of our party on using the gents commented that even the smell as he walked in was stomach churning will be our last visit im afraid and wont be recommending it to others

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Malvern Tavern, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Annie C

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Malvern Tavern in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“christmas lunch”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

will not come again food poor toilets very poor no hand dryer in mens and not so clever in the ladies so they say

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Malvern Tavern, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Charlie H, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“average”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

food average staff good,ate here with friends had the breakfast burger whole meal looked a bit tired ,used to be good food here,wont be eating here again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“its not the staff, they are very good”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

but obviously the pub chain which is at fault. For at least the last two months the back toilets have been" out of order" which is ridiculous! this is a busy eating and drinking pub and the toilets that remain are inadequate and very poor. The ladies have two, one of which wont flush(although apparently they will but you have to have the knowledge!) no paper, no hand dryer, no paper towels. My husband and sons tell me the gents are no better. Then there is the menu, we are regulars and know this off by heart - come on - its time for a few changes. Please bring back the half roast chicken. Weatherspoons have a better variety as do other chains. We all enjoyed sitting outside in the summer, which has now gone, and during all those months nothing was done about providing anywhere for smokers (yes, I'm afraid they do still exist) the umbrella remains taped up and as I understand it the heaters are broken. There is plenty of room at the side of the pub to provide a more permanent structure. This area by the way is in need of some serious maintenance before someone really falls and causes in jury. Broken concrete and very uneven surface. We spent over £100 here last Friday, and its a busy pub/restaurant and its time the management put something back into it, starting with the toilet repairs. We could use the Bellemoor but prefer the staff and company of the Malvern so come on give them a break from all the moans and address these problems.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“yet another good meal in this popular pub”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Excellent food as always,the prices in here are fantastic.

Family friendly and a good place to watch sport.

I've eaten in here on and off for over 5 years and always enjoy my visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sodemallOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malvern Tavern also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Malvern Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing