We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Mayflower Theatre

Mayflower Theatre
Ranked #2 of 133 things to do in Southampton
Attraction details
West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I went to see the Lion King. I have mobility problems and nothing was too much trouble for the staff that we met. There is a separate entrance for people with access needs as well as a separate waiting area with toilet. The seats are comfortable and more so if you bring your own support cushion with you. The width of the seat is adequate as is the legroom (I am 6'3" tall). One member of staff even helped my wife carry some food and drink to our seat. The show was fantastic and the view from row Z (seats 1 & 2) was great. The place has a real good atmosphere and great acoustics. There is limited parking nearby with one disabled space opposite the entrance on the main road.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DWT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    518
    97
    61
    54
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent provincial theatre”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Always enjoyable without necessarily breaking the bank.

Attracts very decent productions - saw West Side Story this time.

Road connections pretty good. Big car park nearby. Southampton Central train station perfectly walk-able.

Nice new foyer area now after the revamp.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had tickets for "Dance 'til Dawn" following a lovely lunch in the Ovation Restaurant upstairs (reviewed separately). We parked in the multi storey just a short walk away. The theatre itself is large, open and airy. We had tickets in the stalls, row T seats 32/33. These are to the left of centre about two thirds back. The seats were comfortable, with decent leg room. There is a good rake so had no problems seeing above the people in front. We had an excellent view of the whole stage, but would not have wanted to be much further to the side. The acoustics were good and we had no problems hearing. The temperature was comfortable and well maintained.

The show was superb. Vincent and Flavia performed at their awesome best, supported by a talented cast of actors, singers and dancers. A great experience all round.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaz_n_Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Mayflower is a beautiful theatre that i have been to many times. It has maintained all it's beautiful features and is a real joy to visit for a play, concert, pantomime.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best night out in ages”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Fantastic show lovely atmosphere staff only to willing to help my only grumble would be the price of things so I take my own in future but otherwise thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to seeing the lion king

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayflower Theatre also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Mayflower Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing