We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night”
Review of Charlie Chan's - CLOSED

Charlie Chan's
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My husband and I went to charlie chans for my birthday, we had a great night and will definitely be going back.
The staff were excellent,polite and friendly.
The food was excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bazz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Charlie Chan's
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 203 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

After visiting Charlie chans last night we left with full tummies and a smile on our faces. The food was delicious and just kept coming and coming. it is one of the best Chinese meals I've ever eaten. The staff were very attentive without being in your face which was lovely. The atomoshere was warm and charming. We felt like we had robbed them when the bill arrived bearing in mind there was 4 of us with drinks. So not only had a fabulous meal made to feel like we were friends big Thank You to Clare Matt and Mr Chen(the chef).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank etty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Having been a regular customer to Charlie Chans before it was taken over and refurbished, I was anxious to see if the new Charlie Chans would live up to previous expectations.

To put it simply, it did not. The staff were rude, the food was poor and the service was apalling. I was waiting over 30 minutes for each course only for it to be more of a disappointment than the last.

The atmosphere and decor was a little better than the service and food but the positives for the new Charlie Chans end there.

Wouldnt recommend to anyone looking for excellent service and good, tasty food at a reasonable price. Couldnt be any further away from value for money...its over-priced slop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rebecca792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Owner at Charlie Chan's, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Hello,
I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at Charlie Chan's Restaurant. It does hurt to see that you thought the decor was only a little better than before when you visited. I can only say that i spent lots of money and time on the Re-Furb and its a shame you feel this way.
I am however surprised that you found my staff rude and unhelpful, as all my other comments say my staff are friendly and helpful. I will provide you my email address at the bottom of this comment if you would be so kind as to tell me who was rude to you etc so i can address these matters.
Regarding your comment on our food being "Over Priced Slop" i cannot apologise more for the fact you thought this. However i struggle to accept this from you as you say you use to use the restaurant a lot before it changed hands. I cannot stress enough that the kitchen has not changed, and we still have the original chef from before delivering the same excellent food.
We would be grateful if you could give us another try at Charlie Chan's and hope your next experience would be pleasant.
Matt
charliechansrestaurant@live.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We waited in anticipation for the re-opening of the 'New Charlie Chan's Oriental Restaurant' and were not disappointed.The decor was cosy & intimate and the staff: yes English: but polite, attentive and very efficient. The chef is the same as before and offers a range of Chinese, Thai & Malaysian dishes. He even introduced himself to us and our fellow diners during a quiet period! The food was tasty, hot and delicious and we would thoroughly recommend trying this little Gem of a restaurant which is situated in Oxford Street in the heart of Southampton's Cosmopolitan District.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 6 September 2014
Google Translation

Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Charlie Chan's also viewed

Bursledon, Southampton
 
Curbridge, Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing