We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a la carte menu”
Review of Charlie Chan's - CLOSED

Charlie Chan's
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a la carte menu”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our second visit to Charlie Chan's, last time we ordered from the buffet menu, but this time opted for the a la carte and what a great choice we made. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed a Chinese meal as much. I had chilli tiger prawns to start, they tasted superb, followed by barbeque honeyed pork and noodles, it was sticky, sweet and so tender, we chose a bottle of Chilean red, I have never had a Chilean red but will definitely be indulging again. This was a spontaneous Wednesday night out which turned out to be a great night, we were also surprised at how busy it was mid week and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bazz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    42
    12
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have eaten here several times so far, and never been disappointed. The venue is cosy and the staff are very friendly and efficient. The food is wonderful and I always leave with a satisfied appetite.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KnightMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great Return !!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Yet another great meal at chans with the family last weekend. cannot fault the service we always get looked after. Be sure to book at the weekend as you may not get in! We used the Main menu this time, I and the sweet and sour king prawns they were delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have been to Charlie Chans on many occasions and the latest was no exception to the usual friendly service. I feel very welcomed each time I attend and the service is outstanding. The food is freshly cooked and tastes delicious and the décor brings an oriental feel to the place. I have also attended a party in the upstairs which was most agreeable and I recommend this to everyone. It's a lovely atmosphere with gorgeous food

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie898989898989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely value for money Chinese beautiful premises welcoming and friendly staff lovely meal would definitely recommend for an evening meal

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie Chan's also viewed

Bursledon, Southampton
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Curbridge, Southampton
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing