We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and cosy”
Review of Red Rover

Red Rover
Ranked #318 of 866 Restaurants in Southampton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“friendly and cosy”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a lovely family pub lunch on comfy sofas by the wood burner. Super food - burger salad and chips made very nicely and generous portions. Staff very friendly and the whole place dog proof and toddler friendly.Can't think why we've not been here before. Would have been perfect if they had lit the fire though.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros4lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    50
    24
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cold cold cold”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we had the misfortune of being here sunday dec 29th the service was really quick but the food was hot on the inside and freezing on the out ,the gravey had globules in it the carrots had black bits within it ,we sat right by the fireplace hoping that on december 29th !!!!!! it would be warm but you could see your breath i felt a radiator it was freezing i complained to the waitress and eventually she turned on an electric blower heater with the power of a hairdrier the toilet was like the artic circle and the main door to the pub didnt shut properly ,ONLY VISIT HERE IF YOU WOULD LIKE THE NORDIC WAY OF LIFE ! I WOULD RATHER EAT OUT OF DATE CRISPS I JEST YOU NOT ,PLEASE STAY AWAY !!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank keeef h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good quality pub food.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We visited the Red Rover on a Saturday lunchtime towards the end of November with the idea of getting a sandwich and ended up eating a full meal instead. The portion size was good, the food was well cooked, hot and well presented and there was a good selection on the menu. The service was friendly and the pub had a welcoming feel. They were not particularly busy when we were there. We liked the idea of a dessert but we were so full we were unable to accomodate one :-)
We'd definately eat there again if we were passing by at a suitable time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oboist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“shame”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

have been to this pub several times and foods been great bt this time i thought i have the beef in red wine and mashed potatoes and seasonal veg ,well mash was instant the beef was all gloopy and dry and the veg was dirty and was told the carrots came like that????? so i asked for a new meal scampi and chips as was cheaper was not offered a refund and when that came out tasted like oil as in that the fryer was dirty so overpowered everything.
staff were helpful although i felt a bit patronizing as im a chef and think its disgusting what there dishing up at these prices .avoid in future

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cookingkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ok. Certainly worth a visit.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Visited sunday evening. Two roasts and a southern fried chicken dish. It was variable. Roasts were luke warm to the table and veg was cold though chicken fine. Pleasant staff and decent service. I guess you get what you pay for food wise. Wouldn't visit for a special occasion. Ok though and would go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HantsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rover also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Landford, New Forest National Park Wiltshire
 
Plaitford, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Rover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing