We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big feeling Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

One night business trip& arrived very late but helpful staff. Car park totally mobbed even at 3 in the morning. Big hotel&5 minute trek to room. The room was a good standard and clean. Breakfast pretty basic but usual H Inn standard and acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeHatePoorService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Nice welcome, very quiet which is good as its by a main road! Rooms are okay nothing special! Could get a better/bigger room elsewhere for what i paid! Although nothing wrong with it! Breakfast included but on the hot buffet only had 4 items which tasted like they had been left heated up since it started at 6:30am this was at 8:45am! Cold breakfast good alot of selection! Quick and easy to check in and out! Car park gets very busy in evening and also you need a code to get out of the car part but the keypad to dial it in is on the wrong side of the road so u either have to get out and type it in or be on the wrong side of the road!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollyshave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here with wife and daughters for 5 nights in February 2013. Staff were usually friendly and there is a fair buffet breakfast included in the rate. Strangely, there is no bacon at the weekend, just extra sausages, but there we are.
The car park can get quite full on a weekday evening, but there is usually somewhere to park, even if it's a way from the entrance.
As a gold priority club member, it was disappointing not to receive free Wifi access or other complimentary services and unfortunately, this visit (we have been three times before), the room was only cleaned twice; once after insisting two times at reception. Staff were duly apologetic. The first morning, the cleaner knocked repeatedly on our door at 7-38am, which was too early by anyone's standards.
It is a pity about the very poor mobile reception; we had no service the whole time and had to stand in the car park to get a signal.
The rooms are a little small, especially when the uncomfortable sofa bed is folded out and the iron is not a steam iron, so I'd take your own!
It is quite well located though and half the price of the Hilton.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tony100075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Tony100075,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding IHG Rewards Club perks, housekeeping and the sofa bed. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Fine for a basic business stay. Rooms good but would benefit from deeper shower trays to prevent wet bathroom floors. Also benefit from more than two teabags. This is a large unit and really lacks personality. Checked in at busy time so about ten in queue. Dealt with efficiently but no warmth. Evening meal was real disappoint ment
Very limited menu, drinks expensive, service slow despite there being only about four others ordering food (maybe room service) our party was told at least half hr wait. Breakfast experience similar. Basic choice, had to ask for glass for juice and cup for tea on first morning as none available. Staff seemed very stressed and no time to interact with customers.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIJTBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear TIJTBristol,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the rooms.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding staff friendliness and food selection. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

It was a very lovely place to spend the night away from home. Breakfast was good with quite a good variety of food and staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and had a good nights sleep. i could not ask for abetter location, as it was easy to find and plenty of parking. I would be very happy to come back here again !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakimlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I'm not really for experimenting to much when it comes to UK hotels, I don't have time to mess around trying to change rooms. I look for a clean hotel in a good state of repair, no nasty surprises is my criteria.

The Holiday Inn express just of Junc 7 of the M27 and is an ideal location for business travellers or tourists. It is not far from Southampton airport and the ferry ports of Portsmouth are about 20 mins away. It is right next to the Ageas bowl so if you are in to cricket then it's just the jobby.

The area around the hotel is industrial and made up of retail parks and businesses; so as a purely functional hotel it's ideal. There are a lot of fast food outlets nearby and generic chain restaurants abound. Just down from the hotel is a huge Sainsbury's and M&S supermarket with a petrol station.

The hotel is about 5 mins from junction 7 of the M27 so access is good. Beware as the motorway junctions around this hotel can be a traffic monstrosity during rush hour. I drove from this hotel to the Holiday Inn in Fareham, a total of about 11 miles and it took me a hour one morning.

The rooms are a decent size and kept very clean. The smoking rooms are on the top floor if you're still in to the weed,

The only bad thing is the internet costs. As with all Holiday Inns I'm sure they are set by Highwayman Dick Turpin, absolute daylight robbery! 24 hours £10.00 odd and 4 Hours £6.00 odd they obviously use diamond encrusted wifi signals.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daztheworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed for one night, arriving at about midnight by car. Very tight for parking - lots of vans so I assume construction work taking place nearby. Swift check-in; room clean and comfortable. Shower pressure a bit low but otherwise no problems with the room. Breakfast featured a pleasant surprise - the fresh, crisp white rolls which for me were a great feature of the previous HIE standard continental breakfast have returned. I couldn't find out whether this is a chain-wide development. Check-out was efficient. I will return if in the area

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,142 reviews
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,198 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £56 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast with both hot and continental items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing