We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Clean, easy to find and spacious room . We stayed as going on the boat the next morning and this was a good distance. to the ferry in the morning.
breakfast brilliant as a help yourself.

we had a family room which meant that our little boy had a double bed to himself. perfect

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippa24055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Highly Valued Guest

We are delighted by your wonderful review and thank you very much for recognising our high levels of cleanliness and standards .

We hope you had a lovely cruise and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next cruise

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    334
    212
    50
    56
See reviews for
294
249
47
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we were in the Southampton area for the weekend. Initial observations were good, it is in a nice area, the hotel is clean and modern and there was ample parking. Staff on reception polite and courteous. Our hotel room was lovely and clean, tea and coffee making facilities good and supplies plentiful. The only let-down was that the bed was far too soft for our liking and we suffered from bad backache in the morning!
We were encouraged to have a lie-in in the morning as the busiest time for breakfast was between 8-10am, unfortunately we did this and breakfast supplies were sparse when we did go down for breakfast - scrambled egg rather cold, no bacon, ok if you like baked beans and sausages!
Overall our stay was good although I'm not sure we would stay here again owing to the softness of the mattress on the bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Southampton.

We apologise that you were not entirely pleased with the amount of breakfast available when you came down after a lie- in on the Sunday morning. Sunday mornings are always a challenge in hotels and we have taken your feedback on board in order to try and improve our standards in this regard. We would also advise that following feedback on your mattress, which was in fact only 3 months old, we have made arrangements for the bed to be replaced again with a firmer version.

We are most grateful to you for your recognition of the cleanliness and modern design of our property , and your appreciation of the politeness and efforts of our team. We are really pleased that you found your room so comfortable and that this contributed so much to a lovely .

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

At £63 bed and breakfast this hotel is new, clean and superb value for money. The restaurant food was also very good and reasonably priced. I would recommend it highly rather then staying in Southamption city centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Slightly surprised by some of the reviews on this hotel. I paid £62.50 for my wife, my son and myself for a triple room and a buffet breakfast. For breakfast you can have unlimited scrambled egg, baked beans, sausages, bacon, toast and jam, cereals, croissants, tea, coffee, fruit juice, fruit and yoghurt, And you get complimentary shower gel in your room, All this for £20 per person. Room was nice and clean - my son said the sofa bed was a bit hard but he can be a diva!! Fantastic location if you like cricket as it is opposite the Rosebowl. We used it to combine Marwell Wildlife Park and Beaulieu Motor Museum. Really thought it was excellent value for money. And don't be put off by the statements about queuing. It's a buffet breakfast - if people want to stand in line whilst waiting for everyone in front to get their individual breakfasts then it is up to them. Go and get what to want to eat - and eat it. There's plenty for everyone....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here overnight as we had a function at the Aegis Bowl, and overnight price with breakfast was very reasonable.
Rooms was very clean, the breakfast more than adequate for what you pay and the staff very helpful.
On tiny criticism. We arrived as a couple and the girl at the desk asked if we would like a quiet room which we gratefully accepted. However this quiet room was next to two or three families and we were awoken with crying at night & early morning tv. We'd have been better off being woken by revelers when they came in - at least they would have slept in! (I have never found family ares of hotels quiet).

Room Tip: Make sure room is not in family area if offered quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimboTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest

We are very pleased that you discovered our hotel directly next door to the Ageas Bowl and so ideal for your function.

We apologise that the families in the vicinity of your room were not thoughtful for the comfort of other guests . In future if you do find any noise an inconvenience, we do recommend you contact the hotel reception as we would be happy to contact the individuals concerned to make them aware of the inconvenience they are causing and thereby hopefully eliminate the disturbance.

That aside we thank you very much for your recognition of our high standards of cleanliness and your enjoyment of our breakfast offering . The team are also very grateful for your positive commendation of their friendliness and efforts.

We are also perfectly located for many local attractions and Southampton City Centre so we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a package including tickets to Paultons Park, which is nearby. The hotel itself is pretty new and generally it is ok, nothing special, but it was clean, tidy and modern.

We did, however, feel slightly let down as a family given that the hotels own website bills itself as "family friendly". Firstly it mentioned the kids would get a "kids pack" on arrival with some fun things to do, these were not forth coming and when I enquired about them the man checking us in said he didn't know what I was talking about.

Secondly we booked a "family room" which turned out to be a completely standard room but with the sofa bed already converted into a bed. This made the desk completely unusable as there was no longer room to move the chair, as the unfolded sofa bed was now in the way. The room also only had a shower unit and no bath. This in my opinion is not a "family room". At a minimum I expect a "family room" to be larger than a normal room and have a bathroom with a bath. Ok for one night but if we had been staying longer this room was way too small and the lack of a bath would have been an issue.

Thirdly breakfast was served between 6:30am and 9:30am, which again might be great for business travellers but for a family on a holiday is a bit early. Anyway we set the alarm and got up for breakfast and was down by 8:30am however every other family staying, which seemed to be the majority of guests, had done the same and the queue for the breakfast buffet was terrible. When we eventually got something the breakfast was ok and the range on offer was good, but they really should consider extending the hours, particularly during the school holidays when they have a lot of families staying.

If you are travelling on business this hotel would be fine but as a family I would suggest you look else where. Also I noted that other reviews say the reception staff were excellent, but I'm afraid to say the man that checked us in could not have been less interested and we only got information out of him by asking questions!!!

One last thing, there is pretty much no mobile phone coverage at this hotel (on all networks) and there is certainly no data service at all. The hotels own website says there is complimentary wireless access in the guest rooms however when I requested a login I was told it was £3.50 for 1 hour, £6.50 for 4 hours and £10.50 for 24 hours, which is not my idea of complimentary!!! As I needed access I paid for the 4 hours and while it is billed as "high speed" it is not, it was very slow.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear da644,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. It is disappointing to know that on this specific visit you were inconvenienced by the condition of the room you were given and you were unhappy with the state of the Internet connection. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Rooms were clean and tidy. Service at reception was excellent. Rooms were very well priced and great value.

Breakfast was fine as included in the price.
My son (7) and myself used the Virgin fitness club next to the hotel as we wanted a swim. Perfect that it was so close.
We did not eat an evening meal in the hotel but food looked to be ok.
The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water for showers.
Tea and coffee in room and plenty of it.
Would use again and great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. We are most appreciative of your recognition of our high standards of cleanliness and service whilst also offering great value.

We are very pleased you managed to take advantage of the preferential rates offered to our guests by the lovely Virgin Active Club

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,028 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,665 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,125 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast with both hot and continental items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing