We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were disappointed with the restaurant service at this hotel. We arrived at 6:45pm and were told that a big party had booked the restaurant for 8:30pm. We ordered our meals at 7:30pm and still had to wait until 8:30pm for it to arrive with no big party in sight! Also the staff seemed very ill informed about food allergies despite the menu claiming otherwise. Also I had previously emailed to ask if the buffet breakfast included in the booking had gluten free items available and I was informed that it did. The only item available was scrambled eggs but thank goodness a lovely lady remembered that there was some gluten free bread in the fridge out back! Also this hotel had no phone reception in lobby or restaurant but it was in the room. No free wifi either.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Karen K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the restaurant service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Tim service at this hotel was horrible. Over an hour wait for substandard food. Waiters who did not know anything about the food that they are serving. Promise of providing suitable food for dietary requirements was not kept. No internet despite an exorbitant room rate.simply not worth it, don't bother.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillianGking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on tripadvisor.

We apologise that you appear to have experienced some delays in our Conservatory Restaurant service. All our meals are freshly prepared on site and during very busy service we appreciate that this sometimes results in minor delays as would be the case is most busy restaurants.

As a result of your feedback we have also made arrangements to provide further training to our food & beverage team in order to ensure that we provide the best possible service to all our guests.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights here over MAY Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel was busy but we had 2 nice quiet rooms which I asked for, the rooms were 236 and 238. We had a good sleep both nights, The double bed was soft and the bed setee hard but I had good sleep as did all our party so it depends what type of beds you like.
We went to a local pub The Southampton Inn for a meal only about half a mile away. The food was good and reasonably priced and the staff were friendly, although the pub looks like it needs a good clean.
The breakfast in the hotel was ok & included in the price. Very busy at breakfast and ran out of things but did get filled up. A man burnt his toast and set the fire alarm off - but there seemed to be no evacuation procedure if it had been a real fire. The alarm was just switched off with explanation or announcement made. The toaster was on the bar just below a smoke detector so it was bound to happen. The hotel needs to stop this as if I had been in my room and heard the alarm I would have tried to get out of my room straight away as I don't take chances with fire alarms having been in a real fire.
Plenty to do in Southampton, this hotel is next to Agnes bowl cricket ground. There is a Virgin Active Health club next door which you can use for £10 a day. There is a Sainsbury's and a retail park with food outlets only about 1 and a half miles away.
My husband and son went to the Beaulieu Motor Museum where all the James Bond cars are from the films. They loved it, but it is expensive £29.95 for 1 adult and 1 child age 12. The ticket gets you back in for up to 1 year but we will not be going again within a year as it is too far from where we live and this was a one off trip to Southampton.

Over all a good hotel but should be less than we paid as it is not central and you do need a car to get anywhere. It is quiet and we had no noise from inside or outside the hotel which is important to me.
One bug bear, not the actual hotels fault, but The Holiday Inn company, I found the rooms cheaper on another website but the Best Price Guarantee would not uphold it as they stated it was a special offer which is not included in Best Price Guarantee scheme. I could have had the rooms 20% cheaper but they would not match that never mind refund the first night as the guarantee states, as they stated it was a promotion not available to the general public. It was available to anyone who logged on to expedia.co.uk at the time I booked, but the Best Price Guarantee people would not uphold it as they said it was a promotion code - so beware when booking any holiday inn via their main website. - Don't believe the Best Price Guarantee scheme. You can get it cheaper on other websites.

Room Tip: We had 236 and 238 which were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 214jam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear 214jam99,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Easy to find, with plenty of parking, the modern building and smart lobby give a good first impression. The room was a reasonable size and was nicely appointed, although little in the way of toiletries. The room, lifts and the public areas were well maintained and clean. Breakfast was ok - not a vast range, but left us feeling full. Staff were polite and courteous, contrary to some other reviews. The restaurant menu and vending machines were somewhat overpriced (reminded me of Heathrow hotels), but drinks from the bar were reasonable. An improvement that could be made to the lounge area would be to rearrange the furniture so that people didn't have to constantly walk through the middle of families/groups to get to other seating - this spoilt the atmosphere of our group. However, the big failure of the hotel during our stay, and the main reason for being marked down, was the abysmal quality of the bed. It felt very small, but was probably a standard double to be fair, but the mattress was awful - felt like a camp bed! Considering a hotel's primary function is to provide somewhere to sleep, this was a real let down. May not be a problem with all rooms, but certainly rooms 110 and 211 seem to have issues. Please, please, spend some money in this area!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bick'n'Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Bick'n'Nic,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Comfortable room, clean and tidy. Fabulous evening meal and breakfast. Convenient location, close to city centre shops and port. Good indoor facilities for when the weather is inclement. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Highly Valued Guest

We are most grateful to you for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay at our hotel.

We thank you very much for your recognition of the high standards of comfort and cleanliness you experienced in your bedroom, and we are delighted you enjoyed your evening meal in our Conservatory Restaurant and the complimentary breakfast offering so much to your satisfactory.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and thank you most sincerely for your 5 star award of our hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

although crowded, enjoyed. our weekend break here. Hotel was spotless and food excellent
one minor complaint -could do with a bigger self serve area for breakfast, which would cut down queuing and waiting times . staff were very helpful-no cvomplaint about service

Room Tip: always book a room on the upper floors-much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayzee089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

omg how can you winge at a unlimited breakfast which includes toast,beans, sausages,scrambled egg,cereals, yoghurts, fruit you name it these have it, i loved the sausages the best, the rooms were big and very clean. the only issue we had was when we arrived we tried to have a little laugh with a reception member of staff who seemed a little moody aparty from that top ratings for only around £32 a night you cant winge at that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,074 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#12 of 25 in Southampton
1,254 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO31 1AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £50 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast with both hot and continental items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing