We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Crawfordville, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“UK visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Very nice hotel...not close to cruise terminal at all. But next door to cricket stadium. Rooms were clean and restaurant very good. Only stayed one night between cruise ships.
Cost about 18 pounds by taxi from cruise terminal in Southampton.

Room Tip: Large complex. Our room was next to street...no noise. No shopping close by or within walking distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byrdie122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    323
    203
    50
    55
See reviews for
286
237
45
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting local attractions. Reception staff pleasant and helpful. Room very clean and bed very comfy. Breakfast more than adequate. Have stayed in a number of HI express before and never had any problems, perhaps other reviewers have just been unlucky.. Would stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express with my Granson for the cricket at the Ageas Bowl. Paid £67 for a twin room with breakfast and was delighted with both the room and the breakfast which was more than adequate. The hotel staff at check in were very efficient and the evening meal we had in the Restaurant was most enjoyable and not over priced.

Plenty of room in the car park when we arrived at about 6pm and we paid £10 to use the car park the next day for the cricket. Now of course this may have meant the car park was rather full as I am sure others did the same as us but bear in mind the game was scheduled to finish at 6.30pm.

Not really sure why the poor reviews of this Hotel have been submitted but maybe some customers have just been unlucky with the service they received.

Room Tip: we had room 108 which was quiet despite overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here whilst working in the vicinity. The only positive is that it is close to the rose Bowl (cricket ground) were you to want somewhere close to stay straight after the game and a 5minute drive from the Motorway.
The check in was relatively quick, yet they needed a swipe of my credit card of a £50 deposit, not sure why, as i was travelling solo and was only in the room to sleep, so it wasnt as if i was going to damage the room. Thats probably where the positives finish. However a a Priority rewards Club member, i was still not seen to immediately. Upon asking for Wifi, i was told it would cost me £X/ Hour or £x/ 24hours. When i am paying in excess of £75/ night i expect Wifi to be free, or at least told politely that i would be charged, instead i was abruptly told the cost.
The room was basic, dingy and dark. No character and would be enough to put you off returning to a Holiday inn.
When i cam back from my work appointments, i found it near upon impossible to park my car, the car park is relatively large, yet i couldnt find anywhere to park, thankfully i timed it well and saw a van leaving hes space so i followed it in.
The following morning the breakfastw as free, and i can see why. Noone in the right frame of mind would pay for that culinary disaster. No chance of a return.

Room Tip: Dont stop in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickSFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay

We apologise that the receptionist does not appear to have conveyed the internet charges to you in a polite manner and that they did not explain the pre authorisation policy to you more clearly. We thank you for your feedback in this regard and am pleased to advise that we have arranged for retraining of the individual concerned to ensure that the guest experience is improved for future reference.

We also apologise that you did not find the complimentary hot buffet breakfast entirely to your liking.

We are pleased that you found the check in process quick and efficient and that you also found our location and close proximity to the M27 and Ageas Bowl so beneficial.

We thank you for your custom.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Southampton is not known as a major tourist destination. We have two friends and their families living close to Southampton city. We had to stay one night to have dinner with one family. Going through Trip advisor reviews, we found there are three Holiday Inn Express hotels in the area which were reasonably priced. In our case, we were looking for several important factors in selecting a hotel. We had a rented car, so we needed free parking facilities. We needed a big room with enough space to keep our luggage and a table to sit and work on the computer. Holiday Inn Express at Botley road had these features. We got a big room with a double bed and an extra sofa bed. We were very happy with the service. The free WiFi and free breakfast came as an added bonus. The hotel was next to a big cricket ground. I had a feeling that this hotel can get full and busy when there are cricket matches. The free breakfast was reasonable. WiFi connection was fast and I managed to upload several of our photos within the short time I used it. We had one issue though. Initially we were put in a room that had no air conditioning. We found the room to be quite warm on this sunny day. The reception could not help and we asked for the manager. He promptly moved us to a better room in another wing which had air conditioning. This is a good hotel if you are making a short visit to Southampton or if you are a business traveller.

Room Tip: In Summer ask for a room with air conditioning before moving into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, prior to a cruise, we had pre-paid for the room but they took a swipe of our credit card anyway - On return from our cruise we found out why !! we had been charged £75 by the hotel. They have said that during our stay a lamp shade was damaged, which is absolutely ridiculous we are a middle aged couple with no children and would not have climbed over a ready made sofa-bed to get to the lamp. THIS IS A SCAM - BE WARNED

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

As you will appreciate, hotels worldwide provide their facilities for use and enjoyment by guests. Where this use and enjoyment results in irreparable damage to a fixed item such as a full length lamp shade that is completely cracked and destroyed by a guest such as yourself, and has to be replaced as a result of the failure by a guest to use the facilities with care, you can not expect the hotel to be responsible for covering the cost of an item which exceeds the value of the stay of the guest . Fortunately incidents of this nature are very rare and further support the fact that most guests are careful during their stay and appreciate the high standards of cleanliness and decor in our hotel.

We strive to maintain our property in pristine condition at all times and in order to do so we that ensure that all rooms are checked on a daily basis including identification of serious damage such as this at time of departure of guests. I apologise if this is not to your liking but I trust you appreciate that hotel's can not be responsible for unnecessary damage caused by a limited number of guests.

Regards

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Chose this hotel because it was right next to the cricket ground. On arrival was given the accessible room (we are old but not disabled) on the first floor overlooking the car park. Lovely big room and a good nights sleep. Come morning (around 8am) there was just no hot water at all. Manager came up and agreed that the hot water was icy cold, but told us that it was the maintenance man's day off and that he would ring him to see if he could advise what to do. After about half an hour being rung by reception twice to be told that there may be some water about 11am (cricket starts at 10.30) we were eventually moved to room 5 where the hot water was just above tepid and remained that way for the rest of the 3 day stay. There are also notices on the doors to the rooms which say to wait till after 9am for breakfast to avoid the queue. Whatever time we went there was a queue the breakfast area just isn't big enough for the size of the hotel. This hotel is clean and comfortable but the facilities are not great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calcarb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear calcarb c,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is nice to know you liked the location of our hotel as well as the cleanliness and that your concerns were addressed during your stay. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with our facilities and the service you received. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We hope that this experience will not deter you from returning in order for us to get a second chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast with both hot and continental items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing