We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, modern, hotel but dreadful food and needs to sharpen up its payment systems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Convenient, modern, hotel but dreadful food and needs to sharpen up its payment systems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Two nights spent in this new HIE hotel. Good staff, good and spacious rooms. Loads of parking. Everything clean, decent bar.

Minor bugs:
1. The hotel twice refused my credit card which apart from being mildly embarrassing and irritating, was incorrect on the hotels part. I even phoned the CC provider fir them to confirm that the hotel had requested the payment in an 'incorrect way'. Working in banking and IT, HI needs to do a bit more testing and get this right.
2. My meal on the second night was truly dreadful. I was starving having been working for 14 hours without a break. The Thai Green curry was truly tasteless. So much so that I ate less than a third despite my hunger.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JMAK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest

Please accept our apologies that your Thai curry did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately you did not mention anything at all during your stay or we would have gladly prepared an alternate dish for you. All our meals are freshly prepared to order and as a result of your feedback we have arranged for further training to be provided to the team on duty on the evening of your stay.

Kindly note that it is our published policy to pre authorise all credit cards for the full cost of the stay prior to arrival and a further £ 50 at time of check in. We appreciate that in a few occasions the merchant services systems may not work properly and we apologise that this appears to have been the case during your stay. As you will appreciate we do require these pre authorisations to be taken to ensure that guests have the funds in their accounts to settle their bills on departure and we are merely complying with merchant services rules in this regard.

We thank you very much for your recognition of the efforts of our team, the high standards of cleanliness and the comfort within our rooms.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to ensure that we get everything perfect for you on your next stay

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    324
    203
    50
    55
See reviews for
287
237
45
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We used this hotel on a recent visit to Southampton for a quick stop over with our children, family room was booked and we arrived late that evening and walked into a nice large bedroom with main bed and sofa bed set up for the kids, only issue is they had to to share which if they were a little older may have been a problem, but not a major issue.

Room was clean, warm and breakfast was great the next morning, all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powerscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Highly Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback following your family visit to our hotel.

We are delighted you found our large family room to your satisfaction and that you particularly enjoyed the standards of cleanliness and your breakfast the following morning . We recommend in future if your children prefer separate beds to a shared sofabed, you may perhaps consider one of our interconnecting pairs of rooms so your children can enjoy their own room with separate single beds, whilst at the same time providing you with some privacy within your own room.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great hotel, good location very quick and easy to get on and off the motorway! Hotel restaurant was quite good, food was not too expensive but I found the eating area to be quite dark. Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Highly Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely feedback via Tripadvisor. We will make sure we adjust the Conservatory restaurant lighting as recommended .

We hope to have the pleasure of being of service to you in the near future

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ideal for a weekend break. Near Southampton city centre but not on top of it.
Splendid rooms very clean & comfortable. One complaint-get down to breakfast early- otherwise the dining area tends to get very crowded

Room Tip: always choose a room on the upper floors- no noise from rooms above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayzee089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here overnight in connection with our son's wedding. It was just right, lovely and clean, room more than sufficient for a few days stop over if required. The staff were very accommodating. The breakfast was more than adequate, a selection of hot food, fruit, cerials, toast, yoghurt, juices and hot drinks. Very good value, will now try others different locations.

Room Tip: Having not tried the family rooms can only say the rooms all of us in our group were all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrill G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay and we hope you son had a lovely wedding .

We are most appreciative of your wonderful feedback on all aspects of your stay from the high standards of cleanliness, the friendliness of our team and your enjoyment of our breakfast offering

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at this large new hotel whilst visiting Southampton and Peppa pig world. The rooms were large clean and comfortable. The beds are excellent and a good nights sleep was had by all. The buffet breakfast was fab and seemed to be enjoyed by everyone

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheffwed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

It is becoming difficult to tell the difference between a some of the hotels in this class and budget. Clean and modern and fitted out like a typical Premier Inn style hotel and nothing wrong with that. Close enough to the motorway but still peaceful, plenty of free onsite parking and the rooms are comfortable. I must have gone on a bad day as although the staff were efficient they were not very welcoming and seemed a bit surly. Evening meal was OK and reasonably priced and there was a complimentary breakfast. For the life of me I cannot decide what might have been in the sausage!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veteran75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.

We very much appreciate your recognition of our high standards of cleanliness, modern and refreshing interior design and tranquil yet convenient location. To answer your query ... our sausages are a pork variety. We hope you enjoyed the rest of our complimentary breakfast offering and look forward to being of service to you on your next visit to Southampton

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast with both hot and continental items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing