We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming sight at the end of the motorway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed to attend a family funeral so not the best reason in the world! However, the hotel was warm, staff were welcoming, really helpful and hospitable. Room was basic but very clean and smelt fresh. Bed was comfortable and the choice of pillows was a nice touch. We ate in the hotel restaurant, limited menu but food served was very enjoyable, pleasing to the eye and not an unreasonable charge either. Free wifi, free breakfast, buffet style with a good choice on offer, cereal, juices, yoghurts, pastries, toast and a selection of hot cooked food, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage and beans. Would recommend and stay again. Thanks for a comfortable stay :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimHK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for just one night here prior to going on a cruise, we wished it had been for longer. The whole place was spotless, I don't think we have ever seen anywhere so clean and tidy and so Very efficient.
Our room was spacious and the bed very wide and comfortable, fantastic shower !!
We had our evening meal and breakfast there, the food was excellent in both quality and quantity, particularly the breakfast which was self service, I have rarely seen such a variety for a breakfast menu.
The next time we go there it will be for longer than just the one night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRUMPY138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Highly Valued Guest

We are most appreciative to you for your wonderful review and your 5 star rating of our hotel !

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive views and recognising the efforts of our team which have been truly motivational for them.

We hope you had a wonderful cruise and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Soton.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Typical Holiday Inn Express. Not the worst one of this chain I've stayed at. The building is quite new and modern. The bar areas, reception and restaurant are all fairly pleasant. The rooms are small and basic but clean.

Biggest gripe I have with these hotels are the poor quality beds, and this one was no exception. I had a double room, which had a very small, incredibly uncomfortable double bed. The mattresses just feel very cheap.

The heating/ventilation system in the room was poor. It consisted of a single electric wall mounted heater, no air-con (although that's not really a problem in January), which I find surprising for such a modern hotel.

The only other thing I found disappointing about this hotel was the quality of the draught beer. This is a bit of a theme with both standard and Express Holiday Inns. The beer (which is almost always either Stella or Becks Vier) tastes very watered down. To make matters worse, the beer at this particular hotel tasted like someone had bathed their sweaty feet in the keg.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. Please accept our apologies that the Stella or Becks premium lagers we provide were not to your liking. Unfortunately as you did not mention anything during your stay, we were unable to replace your lager or address your concern at the time. Kindly note that all our beers served directly from barrels.

We are surprised by your feedback regarding our beds as all beds were replaced in the past 6 months with Hypnos beds, which company you may be aware have royal appointment.

We thank you for your positive feedback concerning our high standards of cleanliness and the stylish interior design of our restaurant and bar.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and to fully satisfy you on your next stay

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night before a cruise. It was in an easy to find location & was very quiet. The staff were efficient & friendly. The room clean, smelled fresh & the bed was comfortable. It was lovely to be able to eat in the hotels restaurant rather than have to go out again, especially after a long journey. The menu was limited & our steaks were rather chewy (at over £11 each, pricey for the quality) but, the meal was cooked fresh & was hot. The breakfast the following morning was included in the price & there was a good choice of foods, nice to see bacon as in other Holiday Inn Express we've only had sausage, scrambled egg & beans!! Thanks for a great overnight stay!! We'll definitely come again.

Room Tip: We chose the second floor & as the hotel was quiet there was no one above us "stamping"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Thank you to all the staff that made us feel welcome. Myself and a friend decided to book in for a random evening to get away and have a laugh. I took my dog with me and the staff were very friendly. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern. Breakfast came included and was very nice. Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I often use this hotel on business trips and the staff are always attentive and provide excellent service. Rooms are clean and fresh. The restaurant has a good breakfast and evening meals that are reasonably priced and of good quality, but as a frequent visitor a change of the menu would not go amiss.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

While on a business trip, I stayed at Holiday Inn for about a couple of weeks. The room, I stayed in, was very well kept and cleanliness, which I am very finicky about, was something I was impressed with. Comfort was surely there in the stay.

Food was not what I enjoyed though, there was hardly any variety in the breakfast. For all the 14-15 days, I ate the same breakfast; it was a huge put off for me. To add to it, post 8 AM, the eatery would be crowded very heavily. So you need to wake up early to have a peaceful breakfast.

I was very happy with the staff, both at the reception and at the serving area (bar/kitchen).

Holistically, I found Holiday Inn good enough to be considered again for a stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ground Floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saksenarohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#7 of 26 in Southampton
1,163 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#13 of 26 in Southampton
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
4.9 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#17 of 26 in Southampton
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO31 1AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £48 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast with both hot and continental items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing