We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lied to by staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lied to by staff”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

After reading reviews on here about the issues people have had with payment i was a bit worried about the "pre- auth" they wanted from me at check in. I had already paid for the room and did not need to pay any more. However. after explaining that i had not much money in the bank and needed it for my daughters birthday the next day the man on reception assured me the pre auth takes NO money from my account and i would still be able to access it. Even though i was still unsure, he refused to check me in unless i did one. All this at 9pm with a screaming, tired, poorly 2 year old at reception, after a 3 hour drive. He did not care at all. I gave in for my childs sake.

The next morning i went to take the cash out of my account and discovered they had taken the £50.00 that he had pre authed. To say i was upset was an understatement.. this money was for my daughter to use at peppa pig world.

I called them straight away and was spoken to quite rudely by a lady on the other end who fobbed me off to someone else. She REFUSED to help unless i contacted the bank... i had no details of my bank on me so she TOLD me to use the internet like im a walking wifi port.. She has told me that money will go in to my bank within 5 working days... its the weekend tomorrow and i have no money until payday so i have to wait a week for this!

Its disgusting and i advise all people to REFUSE a pre auth as i work for a hotel my self and i know they do not need it to check you in!! pre auths are for those that have not paid incase they checkout without paying.

Other than this, the room i was in smelt of CANNABIS as the people in the hall where smoking it and they were even talking about it quite loudly.. so it was without a doubt cannabis. Doors were slamming through the night, i was woken at least once an hour..and the breakfast was disgusting. It was cold, sloppy and very limited.

i have just found out there is a premier inn right by Peppa pig world and i shall be staying there next time.. i will avoid a holiday inn no matter how much more i have to pay. It was not worth the £70 i paid. and this was supposed to be discounted...

The room was dusty and the window sil had clearly not been cleaned.. to say it was a family room it was very small.
I have to say this is the worst review i have ever had to give and i hope they are proud of themselves..

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else perhaps?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Louisa Y,

Thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay. I am sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information about your concern.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    332
    211
    50
    56
See reviews for
293
246
47
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Recommend -spent a night here before embarking on a cruise from port of Southampton.
Only 10-15 mins away. nice location -next to Rosebowl cricket ground.
Comfortable bed -breakfast lovely -good choice of food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caswed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
679 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Obviously been built to compete with TravelLodge and Premier Inn without the cheap rates. I paid 68 quid for night but that did include breakfast. As it is not close to shops decided to eat in. Smallest bottle of soda water I have ever seen for 2 quid and 5 greasy pieces of calamari with very small side salad for 6 quid. Car parking is free. Leisure centre next door 10 quid..but much for a quick swim.
Rooms ok, but bed really is just a double. Travel Lodges are all queens at least.no baths in any Express hotels..ahhh.nothing but soap provided in room.but you can ask for toothbrush etc downstairs, if you have forgotten yours. Clean white towels.heater in room 143 did not work. Half the hotel has air con..if it is summer make sure you ask for one with ac. Was originally put on other side of building with ac but there was an engine noise that kept coming on..would have been unable to sleep.

Room Tip: Face car park.top floor less noise. Avoid cricket game days..they play next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RufusBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear RufusBrisbane,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your stay. I am delighted that you have a high rating on cleanliness and sleep quality. However, it sounds like we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel guest experience due to the conditions of your room, missing amenity and noise which has negatively impacted your stay with us.

The review we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night prior to leaving Southampton on cruise. Good clean room with comfortable bed. Breakfast with good choice although very busy plenty to go round. Car park very full, but managed to find parking space. Would recommend and use again if in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HEATHER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The only real problem is accessing this hotel - it felt like we'd gone round the roundabout twice before finding the way in!
Other than that, this was up to the usual HIE standard, with clean and neat rooms and a decent breakfast.
will probably stay again before our next cruise

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwt186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed comfortably in the room. We ate well enough and the staff were pleasant.
My big gripe is the pre-authorisation system.
When we left, we paid our owed amount IN FULL.
Next day, husband saw they had taken, NOT that amount, but TWO separate amounts totally over £24 more than we had owed!!
Shame on them!
We spent over an hour talking with various people trying to get the money they pinched put back into our account. They finally agreed to do it..but ..
Oh...it will take them 5 days to give us back the money they never should have taken in the first place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radish285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Radish285,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the extra amount that was charged to your card. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed at this particular HIE on numerous occasions - which says it all, really: we're happy to keep giving them our business.

It's very well located for us, especially Hedge End, but also Fareham, Southampton and Portsmouth. The serve yourself, all-you-can-eat breakfasts are extremely popular with our children (11 & 8) and we have never been anything but happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blagbobennychicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,019 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,658 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,119 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast with both hot and continental items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing