We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very clean, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night , check in very quick and easy, free WiFi, easy to access. Room very clean, coffee and tea making facilities in room. Air con fine, had a meal in restaurant, Saturday evening, service good, food excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast hot and plentiful. All in all a very pleasant experience. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Highly Valued Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience following your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate your recognition of the efforts of our team, our high standards of cleanliness and the enjoyment of your evening meal and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    315
    199
    49
    55
See reviews for
281
231
44
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Don't book here.
Served pink undercooked chicken for evening meal.
Sausage at breakfast were still pink inside.
Given half of an interconnect able room so could hear people through the shared door all night
long walk from room 252 to car park with 2 young kids and baggage
Disappointed
Plus points
handy location
Clean rooms

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ade4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. Please accept our apologies that we did not meet all your expectations on this occasion.

We are rather surprised at your comment regarding the chicken dish considering that this was removed from your bill on a goodwill basis. All our sausages are freshly cooked throughout the breakfast service by two chefs each morning and they would have been more than happy to cook fresh sausages for you more to your liking if you had only mentioned that you required them well cooked .

I apologise that you found the walk to your room on the far side. You were allocated an air conditioned room in our new wing and perhaps you did not notice that there is a door from the new wing that takes you directly in to the car park that would have shortened your walk back to reception with your family.

We thank you for your positive feedback about the convenience of our location and our high standards of cleanliness which we appreciate.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

As my satnav broke down and since I am not very familiar with the roads in Southampton, combined with a large number of road works, it was not easy to find the hotel. According to a taxi driver, there are 3 Bottley Roads in Southampton, and the first one I found obviously was the wrong one. However, I made it to the hotel (which is not as close to Jct. 7 as the name suggests) and the hotel itself is good. Had a nice welcome at the desk, got a good sized and clean room (especially for H.I. Express standards) and there are more than enough parking spots. The staff is very friendly and helpful (as usual at the H.I. Express') and WiFi is good. Breakfast is a bit simple, but good enough to get you started. If you need to be in Southampton centre, you might want to select the Holiday Inn close to the port, but for business or "passing through" purposes, this hotel is very suitable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest

We are pleased you managed to finally find us despite your sat nav having unfortunately failed en route. For future reference if you have the misfortune to have your sat nav fail again, if you kindly make your way to M27 Jct7, and follow the brown signs to the Ageas bowl, you will find us very easily within 2 minutes of the M27.

We thank you very much for your recognition of the warm welcome by our team and for advising of your enjoyment of our well proportioned and clean accommodation . We are also very pleased that you found our team so friendly and helpful and that our wifi met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Accessible parking was good and felt secure. Keycode to drive out and open the barrier. Check in was ok. Our accessible room was clean and fresh but no air conditioning and the free wifi signal was so weak it was useless. No phone signal and only 3G in a small area of the dining room.

We ate once in the hotel, in the evening. It was pretty busy and broke the bank! £13 - £15 for most meals on a limited menu. I had a curry which was tasty but gave my jaw a work out. My husband thought his burger was undercooked. Not worth the price.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

I liked the comfy beds.

Location was good but if you are thinking of popping to Mc Donald's/ Pizza Hut etc on the industrial area be aware its patrolled by police due to antisocial behaviour. We witnessed some of this and didn't dare go in!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise_Watch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for two nights: me, my husband and 17 month old daughter.
I requested a cot on booking.com and I also emailed the hotel directly, so wasn’t exactly filled with confidence when we turned up to find they’d just pulled out the sofa bed and no cot. I called reception and they brought one up after about an hour or so.
I don’t want to say it’s family-friendly, because it isn’t really – it just has lots of families staying there. There is a “polite notice” on the doors to the corridors asking your child not to run up and down the corridors, but anyone who has a toddler will know the tantrum they have when you make them stop is noisier than them actually running up and down in the first place.
I wanted to buy my daughter a bit of dinner, but it turns out the restaurant is only open from 6pm (as opposed to, for example, Ibis that have 24-hour cafes). This is a little bit late for her, and also a bit of an oversight because surely the hotel would WANT the diners with kids to eat earlier? There are no vending machines either so make sure you stop at the Asda on the way in for supplies.
There is a huge expanse of grass to the rear of the property, and it really wouldn’t take much for them to put a gate on it so kids couldn’t run into the road, and a few swings and a slide. This would also mitigate the problem of kids running up and down corridors because they’d be worn out.
The rooms are spacious; the windows open and there is also air-con; complicated array of lamps and lights; no plug socket next to the room mirror for hair-straighteners; TV fixed to the wall and not possible to swivel so it faces the bed and not the cot. Bathrooms only have a (large) shower not a bath, so that was awkward with a baby used to baths.
The breakfast was ok. Scrambled eggs / sausage / bacon / beans / toast, then muffins, croissants, mini pastries, yoghurt, a couple of cereals and tinned fruit. I like a boiled egg, but hey-ho, and more than three cereal choices and some fresh fruit would’ve been nice. Bit of a bun fight for the milk as there was just one chiller machine, and no jugs for people to take back to their table, so there was a queue of people with individual teacups and cereal bowls.
It was just fairly average. I’m sure if I was on my own I might’ve viewed it in a better light, but travelling with a toddler is hard enough, without extra obstacles put in your way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judrop500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear judrop500,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always our top priority to provide you with a great and satisfying accommodation. It is regrettable that we were not able to do so on your recent stay. Rest assured that all your comments, especially those regarding your dining experience and room amenities, will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements where needed.

Though I would have preferred you had a better stay, I appreciate you sharing your thoughts and we look forward to providing you with the best hotel experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a deal to go to Peppa Pig World. Total cost was £140 for 1 nights accommodation and 2 days park entry for 2 adults and 2 kids. We were given a triple room (not sure what that means) that had a double bed, a double sofa bed and space for a pop-up cot. The room was still quite spacious with all this, the bathroom was large enough for me and my wife to sit in while we sorted our luggage out and the kids slept in the other room. Beds were comfy and the curtains made the room dark enough. We were impressed with the check-in speed and the fact that the popup bed and cot were ready and setup for us when we arrived. The room also included free wi-fi. Breakfast was ok with a good selection. We'll definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: If going to Peppa Pig World book through their site as it works out cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Hanvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I took our two daughters to Paultons Park and chose this hotel to stay in over night. The only negative we have about the hotel is the room was a little cramped. Our daughters are 1 and 3, the youngest usually sleeps in a cot, but we chose to let her share our bed for the night. Our eldest had the pull out sofa bed (double). Once this sofa bed was out, there was absolutely no floor space. If we had chosen to use a cot for our youngest, I have no idea where it would have gone. Perhaps we would have been offered a different room...?
Overall though, the hotel was clean and staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was okay, not the best I've had but by far not the worst. Location was ideal for us and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing