We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair and Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fair and Decent”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stay in a good number of IHG establishments and as the HI Express go, this was fairly decent. Good access from the motorway bu quite a distance from Southampton City Centre and located no where near anywhere else to walk to if you fancied a drink or meal outside of the hotel.
Welcome was good - reception and public areas well appointed. Generally very clean, tidy and presented.
Major issue was lack of aircon in bedrooms - with hot weather, the was stifling depsite a potable fan on full power.
Everything was expected as per the standard of an HI Express - I have stayed in far worse with this brand.
Would recommend to any business traveller.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    333
    211
    50
    56
See reviews for
293
247
47
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My Wife and I stop here whilst visting an elderly aunt in Southampton. It is not only well located for us, but also for the New Forest and for Pepper Pig World too. It is consistently good and having a restuarant which serves wonderful food (the curries are great), makes it effortless to arrive late and not have to go out for a meal. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We have been visiting for 3 years now and tried them all the local B&Bs' nearby but honestly they were not as good. Yes it is clinical and clean and each room is the same and wihtout character, but it is realiably and consistently good adn comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel and to the far ends of the wings are quieter, but a bit of a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROZNBAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We visited for one night for my 21st with my mum. It was raining so ate at the restraunt curry was amazing so glad we ate there :) when in bed had trouble sleeping due to children running up and down the corridors till 3am !!!!! Breakfast cooked food was untastful I couldnt eat it there was only fat free yoghurts <<< okay for people who dont want any calories pastries were great should have booked a hotel with no children or one where the parents could control theyre children overall average no where near the best .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank charliechubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Holiday Inn Express SOUTHAMPTON M27, JCT.7

For the purpose of my review bias, for the last 12 years I have stayed approximately 60-70 nights a year in the Intercontinental / Holiday Inn Group chain.
Date of stay 24-25th June 2014
My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows:

1) Arrival was straightforward using the Sat Nav (TOM TOM) instructions
2) On arrival at the hotel the check in staff (Martina) was extremely pleasant and friendly. I received access to the free wifi and choice of a 200-priority points voucher or alternatively if you wish you may choose the option of a free drink at the bar instead.
3) All area’s including the bedrooms were always well kept, tidy and clean.
4) My room (room 156) was clean and well maintained ( See the photos)
5) There is a large free car park which surrounds the hotel, which at times became very busy indeed with guest circling round to find a spot.
6) This is a quite large hotel in comparison to other Holiday Inn express’s but despite the hard foot print by many guests the hotel was in impeccable condition
7) The quality of the breakfast was great for a Holiday Inn Express as it contained bacon in addition to the standard normal offerings of pastries, toast, fresh fruit, sausage ( even the sausage was above the normal standard of the brand), beans and powdered egg, yoghurts, and cereals. Tea and coffee are served from Holiday Inn Express style vending machine.
8) I did not use the evening meal service.
9) Location, The hotel is located just off the M27 which was ideally located for my visit
10) Check out, was straight forward and hassle free
In summary the hotel scores 8/10 for a rather good branded Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresaheadinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Booked as part of the peppa pig 2 day break.
Good location about 17 miles from PPW. Modern clean hotel. Good size room for family of four.
Small resturant- breakfast was average, self service, not great on choice. Cooked- bacon scrambled eggs, beans and lovely sausages. Yogurt, tinned oranges/peaches. Pastries, toast. Limited conserve. 3 cereals.
Would probably visit again as part of deal for PPW but not otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cspanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for choosing our hotel for your recent stay during your visit to Peppa Pig World.

We are very pleased you found our proximity to PPW so convenient and thank you for your recognition of our high standards of cleanliness, modern design and comfortable room for your family of four.

We are also ideally located for many other local Soton attractions so hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting family. The hotel is clean and welcoming, beds are comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price, but there was a long queue and the seating area is a tight squeeze, be prepared to people constantly walking into the back of your chair! The range of food is just ok, sausages, eggs, fresh juice, 2 cereals and toast. Check was slow, a long line of people wanting to check out but one person behind the desk! Overall we enjoyed our stay, we had a good nights sleep and for the price, we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snackjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to your family in Southampton .

We are very pleased to see how you enjoyed our comfortable new Hypnos beds and the high standards of cleanliness. We apologise that you experienced some delays during breakfast service which tends to be the case in most hotels on weekend mornings when most guests tend to try and have breakfast rather late.... Kindly note that in addition to the items you mention, our complimentary breakfast offering also includes bacon, yoghurts, selection of cheeses, Danish pastries, croissants, muffins and fruits.

We are delighted that you will be visiting our hotel again when next in the area and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two night over a weekend month and I would say this is a hotel of convenience.

Located right by the junction, access is very easy. Parking spaces are not significantly large (it was almost full for both two nights) but seems to have just sufficient capacity.

Despite the location, it is fairly quiet and no noise disturbance.

Check-in/out processes were efficient and fast.

Basically, this establishment does what Holiday Inn Express claim to do.

A plus is housekeeping. Staff are mostly very efficient and do a very good job keeping the room very clean.

One negative is breakfast.
The dining area is small thus I had to queue for both mornings to get to the buffet breakfast, which is not very welcome if in hurry.
Having said that, such situation is well informed by a note posted in the lobby area, suggesting guests to either come to eat early or late...! So, the management is doing the best they could do with the limited available facility.

I will be happy to stay here again, next time I have business in the same location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lutecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We are very appreciative of your lovely feedback following your recent stay with us and your recognition of the efforts of our team which is truly motivational for them. We are very pleased you found our standards of cleanliness so high and most importantly that you will be returning to our hotel for your future stays in Southampton .

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,023 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,662 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,121 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast with both hot and continental items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing