We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but poor staff and food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but poor staff and food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a man who's accent I could hardly understand! I struggled to know what he was saying and had to keep asking him to repeat himself, which was very awkward and embaressing. He didn't tell us much about the hotel, or even which floor our room was on. Once we were settled in, we found it easy to get around from the hotels location.
When we tried to leave the car park, the barrier would not lift unless someone came into the carpark and no one had told us what we had to do to get out. When we asked at reception, a foreign lady handed us a card and said in a blank tone: "Barrier code" and just stared at us. We eventually worked out how to get out but I found it rude that the lady didnt even bother to explain. The staff had the same attitude in the restaurant area too. We sat down waiting for someone to hopefully come over and talk to us, but instead we got ignored, and had to ask someone where we ordered. The food was overpriced for what it was but we were tempted by the tomato soup however when we saw a lady having soup it was yellow!!! Im sure tomato soup was red? so we didn't bother.
Breakfast was terrible. Cold food, no milk for cereals, no tea spoons, everything was hard to find because it was all scattered around, dirty tables and no greeting from staff. We avoided breakfast for the rest of the trip.
A gas leak next door caused us all to evacuate when we were there, but the situation was handled well by some members of staff who were polite and organised.
Bed was fairly hard and pillows weren't great. Windows were very dirty. Apart from that room was lovely. Decent sized bathroom, everything working and clean.
I work in a hotel restaurant, so I know how people should be treated and spoken too, and the staff were not very polite or helpful. It is a shame because everything else apart from the food was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louio26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    315
    199
    49
    55
See reviews for
281
231
44
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Was looking for a last minute cheap room for a trip to Portsmouth and found this for the same price as Travelodge but with the cost of breakfast thrown in. We struggled to find it at first as there is no signage from the motorway, if their directions had stated next door to Rose bowl we would have found it no hassle as this is signposted everywhere! However, very impressed upon arrival. It may be an Express but it has all of the qualities of a standard Holiday Inn with welcoming staff and well furnished rooms. The beds and the pillows were so comfortable we all had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was also excellent and there was plenty of it. Will now be choosing these over my usual Travelodge. Top marks.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your taking the time to convey your comments following you stay at Holiday Inn Express Soton M27 Jct 7. I apologise that you were not aware that we can be located by following the brown signs to the Rose Bowl from the M27 Jct 7, as we are directly next door to the Rose Bowl Cricket grounds. We will do our best to update any further websites which may be missing this information,

I thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel and the rest of your stay. I am pleased you you enjoyed your cooked breakfast . We are finding the new cooked breakfast inclusive within our rate has been very well received by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Soton M27 Jct 7 in the near future

Kind regards

CHRISTINA BROULIDAKIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We were encouraged by the new building and nice rooms but it went downhill after that!

For dinner I had butternut squash risotto. It was swimming in grease and had grated cheddar in it. The cheddar was grated on the large holed sidi of the grater - wrong cheese, wrong sized bits of cheese. I want shavings!!!! When I expressed my disgust at the food they gave me a free dessert.

At breakfast I was appalled by the choice- the only cooked items were sausages and scrambled egg. What about bacon, mushrooms, beans etc .,

On checkout I mentioned this and they didn't care. This is why this hotelbhas rooms when others are full....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

I thought this hotel was a lot newer than 7 years, it felt new, clean and very well cared for. The staff could not have been more helpful and made us, and the children feel very welcome. We had a meal in the restaurant it was not fancy and the menu was just a bit limited but the food was hot and well presented, they tried hard to accommodate all our requests too. My partner had the curry special which they made a bit hotter as he asked them to and it was surprisingly good. Breakfast was as it always in in these hotels but again it was hot and the staff very eager to please. I would stay here again. My only complaint that the bed settee was a bit uncomfortable and the room a bit hot even though we did leave the air conditioning on I wondered if it went off over night but over all very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

This is a busy hotel, conveniently located by the Rose Bowl and next to an Esporta Health Club with tennis courts, gym and indoor and outdoor pools. This is free to use if you are already an Esporta member or £7.50 for a day pass, if not (purchased from the hotel).

The hotel met expectations, with just a couple of niggles. The breakfast servery area is much too small for the number of guests at busy times and we queued over 20 minutes just to get a hot drink. The delays were mainly due to there being only one hot drink machine working and an erratic toaster. If only they had managed to get an additional hot water heater... or even a kettle... placed away from the food queue, things would have been better. The queuing was particularly stressful for people with young children.

The other niggle is that the smoking area seems to be right in front of the main entrance, which meant walking right through the cloud of smoke when going into the main lobby.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

I use this hotel each week when in Southampton on business, great value, quiet and good recent new wing added (new style Holiday Inn beds, TV and AC)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacmac00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We decided to stay over there due to the proximity of the new forest and other local attractions. Unfortunately, the hotel was of cruise passengers waiting to board the massive vessels in the docs. Staff, overwhelmed with the number of people, clearly not coping, told us the situation was even worse in the weekends. Overcrowed carpark and endless queues for scramble eggs and toasts.
The hotel has a new building where we were given a room. Neat and clean but a horrible humming noise from the airconditioning system made us change the room to the old part of the hotel, still, acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabybona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing