We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant budget hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
2 reviews
“Clean and pleasant budget hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

I stayed at the holiday inn for a total of 3 weeks in November and had a different room each week. The rooms were always clean and tidy as well as cleaned every day to a good standard, I couldn't ind any fault with the cleanliness. The rest of the hotel was also very clean.

The staff were friendly and I had no problems understanding any of the foreign staff at all, so I'm not sure what the previous negative reviews about language difficulties are about. The bar/ dining area was nice and the food was not outataning but not terrible either, it is priced quite high for what it is although this is standard hotel practice. I only ate the cereal in the moorings as well as the odd pastry. Breakfast is stocked well and I had no problems getting any food or drink or fruit etc. The bar waiters are attentive, friendly and polite.

Tge fire alarm did go off in the early morning one day which I wasn't too pleased about but apart from that I slept well every night with no excessive road or traffic noise.

Internet is priced expensively here however it is similarly priced to other pay per use wifi hotspots I have used.

Overall i wound definitely stay again, as the hotel does everything well. Obviously not one for special occasions as it is a holiday inn! But if you are looking for somewhere to stay the night at low cost then this hotel ticks all the right boxes

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunburnowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to convey your very positive comments following your three week stay at our Holiday Inn Express Soton M27 Jct 7 . We are most grateful to you for taking the time to convey your positive feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by our team.

I apologise that you were woken by the fire alarm going off - this was regretably activated by other guests in the hotel but due to the prompt action of the night team, they were fortunately able to address the matter promptly to avoid any further inconvenience to the other guests.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast at the hotel. We are now offering a selection of your favourite hot offerings for breakfast including scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon in addition to our usual wide selection of continental breakfast offerings, all at the same highly competitive rates previously offered !

I do hope that during your next stay you will try our Conservatory Restaurant for dinner, as all our meals are freshly prepared on the premises by our own brigade and we frequently receive very positive commendations about the quality of the menu offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    315
    199
    49
    55
See reviews for
281
231
44
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Stayed there for one night. The fire alarm kindly went off aat 3.30am - no rush to get any one out- but luckily a false alarm.

Room, ok but would prefer a king bed and no sofa. Room was hot and air con seemed to be centrally located. Also no instructions for wifi.

Big probem was breakfast - it was soooo poor. Even though we were early - only scrambled egg (which was awful) and sausages left. A british hotel without bacon....appaulling. Only stayed as at a wedding nearby- wont be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Soton M27 Jct 7 . We are most grateful to you for taking the time to convey your positive feedback.

I apologise that you were woken by the fire alarm going off on the evening of your stay- this was regretably activated by other guests in the hotel but due to the prompt action of the night team, they were fortunately able to address the matter promptly to avoid any further inconvenience to the other guests.

I apologise that you did not enjoy the new selection of complimentary hot breakfast we offer. As part of our brand standard, we are only permitted to offer scrambled eggs each day with either bacon or sausages on each alternate day. I have conveyed your feedback about bacon being offered daily and hopefully this is something that will be implemented on the new review of our brand standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

South Mimms, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Booked the room on the internet - arrived a little late but had rang ahead, satnav did not recognize postcode. At reception advised would have to have a smoking room because I had not indicated otherwise - I believe this option did not present itself when booking otherwise would not have booked at all. Was given a non-smoking room but with a double bed when asked for two singles and it had a cot still made up which made the room cramped. Couple of drinks in the bar were a bit expensive. Looking forward to breakfast but this was disappointment, no one checking you were OK, felt like a motorway service station, thought the food cheap and basic. Sausages and scrambled eggs, no bacon, mushrooms tomatoes, orange juice ran out and by the time refilled had finished breakfast. On the positive side, had I wanted a room with a double bed and a cot would have been OK and everything appeared clean

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nowhereinparticular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Soton M27 Jct 7 . We are most grateful to you for taking the time to convey your positive feedback.

I apologise that you expecting a wider breakfast offering. We have recently introduced a selection of hot favourites to our extensive complimentary continental breakfast offering which includes scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. We are unfortunately not permitted to offer additional items such as mushrooms and tomatoes under our brand standards, however your feedback is certainly something that will be considered on the next brand standard review

On behalf of the team at the hotel, we wish you and your family a wonderful festive season and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Firstly the beef curry me and my wife had was deliious. i genrally donot eat at holiday inn express but was tried enough to go out for dinner so had a beef curry which just exceeded all my expectations, nice and clean hotel. clean rooms.mostly foreign staff at reception so had problem in understanding thier accent,but grt hotel. vale for money

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john197770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your wonderful comments following your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Soton M27 Jct 7 . We are most grateful to you for taking the time to convey your positive feedback.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your curry so much. All our meals served in our Conservatory Restaurant are freshly prepared on the premises so we have a number of repeat clients who take advantage of our seasonal menu.

On behalf of the team at the hotel, we wish you and your family a wonderful festive season and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

be very careful to check room before leaving otherwise you will be charged a lot of money for something that did not happen i think its a cost cutting exercise they do.If you complain at the reception they start speaking in a language you cannot understand its very clever so i would advise anyone to find another hotel in the area,

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilly1anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review

I was however surprised by your comments as we have no record of a guest with your details having stayed at our hotel on the relevant dates. I would also like to clarify that it is certainly not our company policy to charge guests for anything other than criminal damage in the rooms which you will appreciate is not included within the rates we offer.

Our staff comprise an international team who are all multi lingual with English being the primary language spoken. It would have helped if your comments would have been more specific which would certainly assist us in addressing any difficulties in understanding a particular member of staff


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Holiday Inn Express hotels bat in the same league of Premier and Travelodge. There's not much room for individuality and you choose where to stay based on price and location first and foremost.

On this occasion we had a tour of a cruise ship booked and needed a reasonably priced hotel close to Southampton for just one night. HI Express ticked a lot of boxes, so we went for it.

The hotel is right next door to the Hampshire Cricket Club and a large Tennis complex. Its also close to the M27.

Where it all went wrong for us was the bed. The bed.

Compared with Premier or Travelodge the double bed is a paltry 4' 6". Not 5' or 6'. The base wobbled like a bouncy castle and the mattress sunk in the middle so that we rolled together. Sleeping was impossible.

In all other regards the hotel was fine. But the bed was absolutely dreadful and I would not recommend this hotel until the beds are upgraded. That said, if you do need to be close for the Cricket or Tennis, ask for a twin room.

We later discovered driving through Southampton a large new Etap hotel offering quite good rates closeby to the docks and shops. Google them, they may be worth checking out for a cheap night's accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfs1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to have read your comments concerning our beds, as we replaced all the beds in the hotel in the past 6 months, with brand new Hypnos mattresses in respect of which we receive numerous positive comments from our clients. I apologise that these were not to your liking

Kind regards

CHRISTINA BROULIDAKIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Good value, clean and comfortable. On the outskirts of Southampton so you will need transport. Just what we required prior to leaving on a ship.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magere1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to share your positive views following your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Soton M27 Jct 7 .

We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back on your next cruise from Soton.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing