We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great meal”
Review of Kara

Kara
Ranked #479 of 855 Restaurants in Southampton
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A great meal”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A very friendly restaurant. Food was good, efes beer was cold. The nan bread was endless, cooked in front of us, we just kept eating more. Not too sure about the yoghurt kebab, the big blobs of cold plain yoghurt were too much but my sons lamb chops were good and the Turkish salad excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skitandoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic and good food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've eaten several times here by myself when working in Southampton, and also with my family, ^ & 8 yr old and they love it. Food has always been spot on, and I would not hesitate to recommend. let the choose for you, or go for a selection. Efes also available for the turkish beer lovers. Bon apetit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Here-my-am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Great Turkish Food”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you like Turkish food - you will not be disappointed. This is one of Southampton's most overlooked restaurants. The meze's are to die for. If it is really good food (which this area of town lacks) rather than theme-style surroundings that you are looking for then this is the place for you

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Steep Wine Markup”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The food is ok here but... either they do not understand wine or they have a highly questionable approach to wine markup pricing. The most expensive red wine on the list, supposedly a classic Rioja (Hacienda Lopez de Haro) priced at £21 - turned out on checking afterwards to be Spanish wine lake that costs less than £4 commercially on the Vinissimus website. That makes the restaurant mark up nearly 6 times the cost price. It is really not acceptable for an unpretentious eatery to be charging such pretentious prices for something that was not very pleasant to drink.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Authentic Turkish experience in Southampton”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The menu is great, if you like chicken or lamb, and rice. As I don't like rice, like seriously I don't like rice! I went for the yoghurt kebab - lamb variety. This was lumps of lamp on a skewer, grilled over charcoal, served on a slightly toasted flat pitta bread spread with some pureed tinned tomato (tomato sauce) garnished with a whole tomato also grilled over the charcoal, and generous dollops of yoghurt. Very Turkish, rather weak flavours, not a large portion by any means, and at £12 perhaps rather expensive for what it was. On the plus side, the decor and atmosphere transported me back to Fatsa on the Turkish Black Sea coast, the grill is a real charcoal grill, like one finds on the street in so many African and Middle Eastern countries, but fitted with a smoke hood so as not to turn the customers into kippers <g>.
The staff were smiling, attendant, efficient and polite, though the waiter (who also cooked my meal) seemed to speak no English outside of the scope of that necessary for restaurant business, and even then it was a struggle getting him to describe what the yoghurt kebab actually was.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Probert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kara also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Kara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing