We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and cake”
Review of The Coffee Room - CLOSED

The Coffee Room
Restaurant details
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great coffee and cake”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

One of the best places to go for a coffee. Nice decor throughout and lovely chairs.
The cakes are small but filling and the coffee is great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
2 reviews
“Great local coffee”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Love this local cafe at the end of my street. The Origin coffee is supper band the bacon bloomer are a hit with the kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonFergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not disappointed!”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Having planned to visit Bridge and Mo's new enterprise since they opened, we finally found the the time and made the trip. We had been actually been to Shirley and driven back home to Totton when I said "we could go to see the new cafe", so we did a quick u-turn at the end of our road and drove back. Having driven past previously to check-out the location, we were able to park easily and were very impressed by the whole experience. Mo has done a great job with the fit-out and the range of food on offer is equally impressive, with three styles of seating - you can sit at the window and watch the world go by, sink into a sofa at low-level, or at a 'normal' table. Bacon sarnies and a nice pot of tea, real tea in nice tea-pots and a read of the Saturday papers, luxury!
With an easy-going period at work approaching and a couple of weeks off over Xmas I can see myself dropping t'other half off at SGH and making a repeat visit! These guys know how to recruit staff, too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great local cafe”
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

The Coffee Room is a wonderful destination ideally placed to serve local residents. I live around the corner and have visited several times. I have always been given a warm welcome and it really feels as though the staff recognise and remember you.
The coffee on offer is very nice and made well. There could perhaps be a greater selection of specialty flavourings but this a personal preference rather than a criticism. The selection of food is great as well with plenty of reasonably priced sandwiches all of which have been delicious on my visits.
The Coffee Room also offer a selection of fresh fruit and veg. I've never bought from there but it's a good idea especially for those times where you run out and don't fancy heading to the supermarket.
The surrounding are comfortable and clean, with wifi access and the outdoor seating is a nice addition (weather permitting) despite being on St James Rd which can be busy.
My only slight criticism is that the slices of cake - which look lovely - seem a tad pricey; £2.75 per slice in comparison with the price of some other items.
Overall though, very highly recommended and I've been making sure to take friends there when I can.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gazdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to chill and catch up with friends.”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great inspiration by Bridget to open up a coffee shop in this location.......much needed.
Have been on average twice a week and each visit as good as the one before. Great selection of drinks and snacks and I love the fact that I can buy fresh fruit and vegetables. Congratulations go to Michele,Sebastian and Damian for always making us feel so welcome. So far I have been with friends, colleagues and business contacts and no one has been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 147760a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Room also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing