We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant evening out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Sailor

Jolly Sailor
Ranked #154 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went for a meal on spec, and although the restaurant was full, they found us a table at the bar, where we had a very good seafood meal - the whole plaice with chilli butter was very tasty, and the ambiance very "nautical." Been there a few times now, and although the menu is a little limited, the food is always fres and well cooked, and the staff are very friendly - prices are also very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, Engandl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb dog friendly pub with lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stopped here for lunch while following a walk from a book as we did not like the look of the pub that was recommended in the book. It was a grey lunchtime, we had had a rather uninspiring walk, I had just been stung by a bee and feeling pretty cheesed off. Then we found this little gem of a pub! It is situated on the waters edge at Ashlett Creek with views towards Southampton and has a lovely outdoor seating area where dogs are welcome. Dogs are also welcome in the bar on leads. We both had the surf and turf from the very typical pub grub menu. It was delicious! The steaks were cooked perfectly, one rare the other medium, served up with all the trimmings. Obviously not afraid to serve up big portions, we were both really quite full! The staff were helpful and polite. We did wait for the food but to be honest, to be expected as it was cooked fresh to order.
Nice selection of draught ales and choice of draught cider too.
Big bonus for us was that it was dog friendly and there were several dogs there, all on leads, all well behaved.
Cannot recommend this friendly little pub enough for good food, choice of beverages, setting and friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tarawfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Just as a Pub should be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This Pub,hard to find without some clever map reading, is at the head of Ashlett Creek. Dominated on my side by Fawley Refinery and on the other by the now closed power station, the Creek is a delightful oasis from industrialisation.
The pub has an excellent menu of standard pub fare - but freshly cooked.
Go visit to escape the tourists now pouring in to the New Forest.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A real hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Find your way to Ashlett Creek and you will find a little gem - The Jolly Sailor. Good food and drink + an area to sit out in dry weather.

Tip - Time your visit for when the tide is not low tide as the Creek just looks muddy!!

You can park next to the quay + walk all the way to Calshot if you are energetic.

If you have a canoe it's a good place to launch and get on on Southampton Water

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PJAwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a great little pub - unassuming and unpretentious. . . And the food was amazing. I had a steak which was succulent and tasty. Dogs are welcome, which is always a winner in my book! I will definitely be going back and will recommend to others that they pay the Jolly Sailor a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 868Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jolly Sailor also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Blackfield, Hampshire
 
Blackfield, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Jolly Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing