We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Cricketers

The Cricketers
Ranked #100 of 804 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 September 2023 via mobile

Have eaten here a lot and have never had a poor meal, the Sunday roasts are just as good as you can get anywhere as are the steaks.
The staff, Kat Huw and everyone are brilliant at what they each do, there’s a bloke called John who struts about like he owns the place but he pours a hell of a good Merlot.
Highly recommend the Cricketers.

Date of visit: August 2023
1  Thank davidford38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2023

Cricketers is an amazing place to hang out with friends and have some food. I went there with some friends a couple of weeks ago and we loved the place. I was surprised that there was a band playing some rock music in there. It was awesome to listen to live music in a local pub. Me and my friends had a great time there ,so soon we'll be back. It's definitely, a must to go in Southampton.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FFFF28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2023 via mobile

Great food and attentive service at a price that’s easy on the pocket.
Really friendly atmosphere and firmly rooted in the community.
Sally and John are great hosts and have a super team supporting them guaranteed to make your visit a pleasurable one.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank 40somethingHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2023

What a great pub. Service, food, ambience, history is fantastic. Had a really enjoyable meal and beer in the heart of Southampton. This is our fourth visit and we have never been disappointed. Friendly staff and friendly customers.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2023

We popped into the Cricketer’s whilst visiting Southampton before our cruise. The bar was busy, which is always a good sign!! We ordered food - fish & chips, and the Southern Fried Burger and both arrived well presented and were very tasty 😋
The bar were holding a wine tasting evening and John and Sal the hosts were ensuring all of the customers who were tasting and scoring the wine were having a great time. We were asked to join, but didn’t want a heavy night before setting sail the next day, but the very friendly hosts brought us a couple of wine samples to try anyway 😊
Great bar, excellent atmosphere coupled with fab food. Well done team Cricketers - we will be back !!

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 94caroleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Cricketers also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Bursledon, Southampton
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Cricketers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.