We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig in the Wall
Ranked #2 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for one night in November 2013 and absolutely loved this hotel (and we're quite fussy!). The room was one of their smallest but really comfortable and quiet. Nespresso machine and well-stocked mini bar in the room, DVD player, good TV, amazing shower, beautiful tiles on the floor in the bathroom…
The breakfast was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful. We also ate in the bar on Saturday night. My only room for improvement comment is concerning the red wine. There were only 4 red wines and the one we had was nothing special.
Great location for the IMAX in Southampton and for getting to the New Forest on Sunday morning!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for The Pig in the Wall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you are looking for comfort, attention to detail, proper showers and a comfortable bed - but you just don't want to chose one of those run of the mill formulaic hotels, go here. We only had a one night stay but it was everything I expected with all those little bits and pieces in your room that makes a hotel stay just that much nicer. It's quirky design - industrial with modern and traditional sitting comfortably side by side - so possibly not everyone's cup of tea. Mini bar stocked to the brim with food and drink, decent tea and coffee facilities, nice toiletries all add to thee experience. They do not have a restaurant which would have been helpful as we arrived late with a 5 year old - however the suggested a decent Italian 5 mins walk away. Only downside was breakfast - good selection of cheeses, slightly odd selection of cold meats, boil your own eggs and make your own toast - i know it does not have a kitchen but a bacon sandwich would have been a great addition along with a better selection of croissants - especially ay £10 /head. Oh, and don't say yes to a newspaper unless you really do want it - it is not complimentary. Minor things, we had a lovely stay and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Not sure of differences - we asked for family room and they gave us a room with plenty of room for a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0J043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Beautiful bar/guest house with extremely pleasant staff. A must even if only for a drink in beautiful Southampton. The rooms are well appointed & spacious but slightly on the high end when it comes to price. They do not have facilities for food but they do offer a quite unique travel arrangement where you will be taxied, privately, to their other premises outside of Southampton to enjoy a meal & then delivered back to The Pig - In The Wall. Nice touch!
We didn't sleep here but were shown around their wonderful rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdzLewis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed at The Pig In The Wall for 3 nights late October 2013 before a cruise.
The location was great as it was near the centre of Southampton and also near the port. However, the area was quiet and peaceful.
The staff very friendly and always willing to help.
I stayed in the cosy snug room at the top which I loved. My parents stayed a comfy room which was very spacious. I loved the decor which definitely beats any chain hotel I have ever stayed in. It was spotless and very well maintained. The bathroom deserves a mention with the best monsoon shower ever, its quirky floor tiles, gorgeous toiletries and fluffy towels. Bliss!
We had breakfast every morning which we thoroughly enjoyed. The home made granola bars were lovely and the selection of cheeses very good. The honey was amazing! The breakfast area was also very tastefully decorated giving it a very 'natural' and homely feel to the room.
We had dinner at their sister hotel in Brockenhurst and this was very much worth the trip. We were taken there in the Land Rover and thoroughly enjoyed the food.
I would love to stay in this small and friendly hotel again in the future or any of their sister hotels in Brockenhurst, Somerset or Dorset. I would also like its interior designer to make over my flat in Gibraltar!
A gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't like steep stairs do not book the snug room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday. We had wanted to stay at The Pig in Brockenhurst but they could only do 1 of the nights, so opted for The Pig in the Wall instead. The staff were young, friendly and very helpful, and we loved the lounge where you had breakfast, drinks, and light lunches. Very cosy and inviting! Our room had a 4 poster bed and was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in-wonderful! We took the land rover to The Pig for my birthday....as one road was closed, and the other meant driving through a ford to get to The Pig, we were glad to be in the land rover, especially on our return as it had been raining all night, the water was deeper, and we watched a Jag being pulled out of the water! Because of that, we were glad we were at TPITW!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We ate here on my mum's birthday. The bistro is small and comfortable with unique décor - a bit like a Georgian sitting room meets shabby chic! The staff were very friendly and helpful and were welcoming to my two year old grand-daughter. We had a selection of salads, sausage rolls and toasties - all fresh and good tasting. Reasonably priced around £6 each and had a selection of drinks and beverages, including a chai latte. Didn't have time for pudding, but would definitely recommend if you are looking for something different and want a light, healthy lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitoffluff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We went with two other couples and although we would have liked to stay at The Pig in brockenhurst we could not justify the room rates or the minimum 2 night stay over a weekend, so we booked the sister hotel in Southampton instead. We booked via Mr and Mrs Smith so also enjoyed the free perk of access to the spa at Lime Wood during the day. (Amazing value when that is £40 pp). The spa at Lime Wood is the best I have been to, so we were off to a good start. The Pig in the Wall was very homely and quirky. Staff very friendly. They moved us to a comfy room (although we had booked a snug room) but they did try charging for that slight upgrade. We queried and it was sorted. Bed was extremely comfortable and we all commented how the showers were the best we had experienced - a true rain shower. Transfer to The Pig for dinner in the Land Rover was fun with the 6 of us piled in. Meal at The Pig itself was very nice too, we were all rather full though as our sitting was at 9pm was a little late in hindsight. Lastly, although the website said they charge for parking they didn't and the breakfast was very nice although would prefer it if they just included it in the rate and not charge £10pp on top. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig in the Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig in the Wall

Address: 8 Western Esplanade, Southampton SO14 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: £127 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pig in the Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel featuring 12 shabby chic bedrooms set within Southampton’s historic medieval walls. The hotel also has a delicious deli counter serving breakfast, lunch and supper. The hotel's convenient location near to the cruise terminal and the city centre makes it the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pig in the Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing