We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and contemporary town centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig in the Wall
Ranked #2 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chic and contemporary town centre hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We recently spent one night at The Pig, (after two days at Chewton Glen). Completely different experience, so impossible to compare the two.
We loved the cool contemporary room design and the gentlemen's club type styling in the main bar / restaurant area.
This is a small hotel (12 rooms), perfect for one or two nights if you happen to be in Southampton.
It is located within the old town walls on the Western Quay. We sat outside for a drink before dinner in their courtyard area. They make the most of the space but there's no escaping the fact the hotel is situated on a busy roundabout.
We did not eat dinner in the restaurant but took pot luck on Oxford Street - Southampton's restaurant road. I would highly recommend The Olive Tree, and old school French brasserie which was twice as good as chains like Cote and Café Rouge.
Breakfast at The Pig is a self-service affair. Reasonable value for £10 per head.
I would certainly stay there again if I was in Southampton on business, but would not recommend it as a family hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    91
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
42
226
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Tried this place for lunch without checking any reviews and my word what a treat.

There were a few of us so we decided to share a mixture of dishes. The sausage roll was amazing, the chutney on the meat platter sensational

Shame we live 250 miles away, its name would appear on the credit card bill far too regularly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rich-Karen-Wiz-Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently spent a night at TPITW with a LandRover transfer to The Pig in The Forest for dinner. My girlfriend and I live in London and booked a Spacious room to celebrate an anniversary.

Incidentally the drive from London is incredibly easy (not including the special rung of hell reserved for the Hammersmith Flyover), once you're on the M3 it's a swift and direct route almost straight into The Pig.

As previous reviewers have noted, the parking facilities are expansive and secure - you're buzzed in through a wrought-iron, portcullis type set up that could keep a barbarian horde at bay.

We were welcomed by the staff (Robyn) into the charming, cosy reception where there was a happy thrum of people enjoying an evening drink - providing a warm, relaxed, convivial atmosphere.

Once checked in, we were taken up to our 'spacious' room. My girlfriend and I were delighted with it and it was gorgeously appointed. The term 'shabby-chic' is banded around a-lot these days, I can almost find it off-putting as some lesser establishments use it to wallpaper over cracks (occasionally quite literally). This clearly isn't the case at The Pig, the attention to detail is superb - from Roberts Digital Radio to Nespresso coffee machine. The finishings ooze quality, everything has a sense of time and permanence - old wooden plank flooring and enormous free-standing bath as a case in point. The bed was comfortable with luxurious soft pillows and sheets.The rainforest shower gives you such a thorough, hot soaking you feel like you've spent half an hour in a jacuzzi.

We popped down for a cocktail before we got our LandRover transfer to their New Forest sister hotel and restaurant. The cocktail list is minor area for improvement in my opinion - feels a bit lost between traditional and inventive without either being nailed down - would have been nice to see a whisky option on there.

Minor gripe aside, we hopped into our ride (driven by the lovely Robyn) for the quick transfer to the New Forest. I won't go into too much depth here as not reviewing TPITF, but the meal we had was fantastic, when it was drawing to a close we were quite devastated!

We were whisked back afterwards and had a relaxing and restorative night.

Breakfast was recommended and for good reason. The Pig group's philosophy of sourcing from local small-scale producers is in evidence in unlimited cured meat, eggs, fresh bread, granola, preserves, chutneys and pastries - good value for £10 with teas, coffees, juices included too.

Rachel, the manager saw us off in the morning and was as courteous and professional as everyone else we met on our stay.

All in all we were very happy and clearly, would recommend. In fact, felt compelled to create a Trip Advisor account for the first time just to share!

Room Tip: The free-standing baths in the spacious rooms are worth the extra spend - especially for a romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just a one night stay on our way home, but loved the hotel - great décor downstairs and the bedroom was perfect even though it was just the cosy size. Lovely comfy bed, pillows and duvet - lovely soft furnishings and a super bathroom sorry shower room. Quiet and effective air conditioning - nice teas and coffee in the cupboard. Friendly welcome from the hotel manager and her team. We enjoyed a light evening snack and the slightly help yourself breakfast. Will definitely return and take advantage of the Land Rover shuttle to TPITF.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A properly good place. Lovely rooms, great service. Understated, but just right.

The young lady that was in charge and her team were delightful and clearly committed to great service.

I really do believe the wine list could be better, a lot. But the food, service and rooms are top notch.

Room Tip: Pay more for a better room. Easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We've been lucky enough to eat at The Pig in Brockenhurst but always a bit frustrated by their 'no 1 night bookings at weekends' policy. So many hotels so that now that discovering that the Pig in the Wall doesn't was almost as delightful as discovering they had a room for our last minute weekend away! And it was marvellous. The room was fantastic and the rain shower hard to get out of (I mean I could have stayed in it all day!). The staff were marvellous - in particular, Rachel (the manager?) was friendly, helpful and just generally lovely! As was everyone else. Southampton is a mix of beautiful old school town and modern architectural town planning nightmare. The Pig in the Wall adheres with the former - we loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just returned from a nights stay at TPITW with land rover transfer to The Pig in New Forest for dinner. Can not fault this hotel at all; beautiful décor, friendly staff and wonderful food made for a amazing weekend for my husbands birthday. Will be booking again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig in the Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig in the Wall

Property: The Pig in the Wall
Address: 8 Western Esplanade, Southampton SO14 2AZ , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pig in the Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel featuring 12 shabby chic bedrooms set within Southampton’s historic medieval walls. The hotel also has a delicious deli counter serving breakfast, lunch and supper. The hotel's convenient location near to the cruise terminal and the city centre makes it the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pig in the Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing