We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Curry I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal India

Royal India
Ranked #293 of 847 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Curry I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The menu said if it's not on the menu just ask, so I did. A fish curry please, the waiter went to the kitchen and came back to say no problem. I left it to the Chef, well I have to say it was the best Curry I've ever had, almost addictive.

The Chef came out to see if it was ok, it was brilliant. along with some complementary nibbles including a sweet and sour chicken dish and my partners vegetable curry this was an excellent mixture of great food, hospitality and genuine friendly atmosphere we have experienced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    6
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have had many take aways from this restaurant and I always order the Lamb tikka rogan which I have always found to be the best I have tasted, until last night! It was so packed with chili that it was uncomfortable to eat and my friends Jalfrezi was milder than mine! Truly disappointed, hope it was a one off!
It is normally outstanding!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woolston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I visit this restaurant from time to time, as it's close to where my son lives,and when we call in on him it's a place we like to go. I have never yet had a poor meal there. This time the service was rather slower than usual, probably because they fall into the trap suffered by many restaurants that also do take out food, and they find the kitchen overwhelmed with take away orders. Nevertheless, we were in no hurry, enjoyed the time to sit and chat, and as ever had a meal full of taste and aroma. The free dishes brought out by the justifiably proud chef were just too much, and one was left reeling with a surfeit of fine Idian cuisine. A very pleasant evening, and as always, a great eating experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
souhampton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Birthday party .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I had my birthday party here and it all ran like clock work , everybody had an amazing time and loved the food , the staff cannot do enough for you .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sotonnickSouhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic meal, cooked very well with all the flavours coming through. Definately paying another visit very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spindle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal India also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Royal India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing