We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfasts, Shame about the Lunch”
Review of Sainsbury's Cafe

Sainsbury's Cafe
Ranked #551 of 854 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts, Shame about the Lunch”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I frequently enjoy and I mean ENJOY the 'Big Breakfast' at the Sainsburys Cafe in Portswood (for breakfast this is the BEST cafe around), but today, due to domestic commitments I was too late for breakfast and opted for the 'Mega Brunch' from the lunch menu instead. Such a disappointment. While the fried eggs, sausages and beans were all the same as the breakfast, the mushroom was a watery and flavourless affair, and the chips certainly sub-standard. This is so sad, I know its the same staff cooking, and one can only assume that either they don't know how to cook chips (plausible) or that the packet chipped potatoes they use are of poor quality (equally plausible).

If you fancy lunch, go else where, or just stick to a coffee and a cake (both of which are great, I adore their latte and my teenage daughter raves about the milkshakes). If Mr Sainsbury is reading this (not very plausible), then PLEASE do something about your 'main meals' served after 11:30, as they detract from what is otherwise a great cafe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Probert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for an easy weekend breakfast”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely staff and tasty breakfast - very reasonable. Hot chocolate was a bit watery but eggs were good! We will definitely return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joiobywyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Supermarket Cafe, but very popular and with good reason”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Supermarket cafes are taking over from the traditional transport cafe in the UK, and Sainsbury's cafe at their store in Portswood Southampton is a typical example. Light, airy, clean and serving simple food and good coffee well at low prices. No wonder then that it is popular not just with shoppers, but also with construction workers dropping in for breakfast and brunch, the retired for morning coffee and afternoon tea, and parents with children alike.

The cafe serves a great cooked breakfast, with flexibility on what is included. Don't like tomatato with your breakfast? Swap it for an extra hash brown. Fancy a bit of black pudding? That can be provided for an extra charge/ Fried eggs can be changed for scrambled, toast for fried bread etc.

Various Italian style coffees are available, as well as hot chocolate, pots of tea and also herbal teas. All done from a self-service counter and then brought to your table. It's not glamorous, but it is very good for what it is, and at a low price which makes it popular.

Obviously not a place for a special event! But very acceptable for a social meeting over a cup of coffee and a piece of cake, and hard to beat for a real 'builder's breakfast' for under a tenner!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Probert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Expensive - tea/scones and coffee.....

Staff were slow and till not working, this was at 11am.

Few friends not impressed also

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best avoided except for a quick coffee whilst shopping”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

It's usually good to have an in-store cafe for those times when you need a quick bite after shopping, but you have to be fairly desperate to rely on this one. One of the biggest problems I have encountered is that I have visited at lunchtime, only to find that most of the staff seem to be away enjoying theirs, leading to quite long waits at the counter. Scones and cakes on offer are often doughy or dry and are very unappetising. I have also eaten (on separate occasions), the full English breakfast which was passable, but in part overcooked, and fish and chips when the fish was only just passably cooked through and the batter still had a raw, uncooked taste. Although it has not happened to me, I have observed several people being given the wrong order after waiting for some time for their food to be brought. I try to give the cafe a miss as often as possible, given that there are several other alternatives very close by.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthamptonMerrily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sainsbury's Cafe also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Sainsbury's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing