We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average overall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Thai Tapas Bar & Restaurant

Mango Thai Tapas Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Following the success of the first Mango in Portswood and its reputation as one of the finest Thai Restaurants in the area – Mango Above Bar opened in March 2012 in Southampton's Cultural Quarter.These lively little Thai Tapas bars are serving up a fun and friendly atmosphere with exotic jungle murals and eclectic music. The staff are warm and welcoming, and the food is fresh and exciting - busy, buzzy restaurants, encouraging drinkers at the bar.
Southampton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Went here for a light early supper on a Saturday. Not many people in and after being seated we then struggled for the attention of staff - we ended up going to find someone to take a drinks order and again when we wanted to order food. Also as it was empty there was not much of an atmosphere.

Some of the dishes were fab - particularly the Massamam Curry - others average. The deep fried tapas were dry and overcooked.

Nice cocktail menu and reasonably priced - so will try it again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rougegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    80
    35
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for Thai tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This place is great for drinks and food.. however I don't think the taste is fully Thai?? I think we are missing some chillies there... I may be wrong however great service, music and friendly staff!!

Helpful?
Thank Matheus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic for small groups (dont book for a large group)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Fantastic food. Great atmosphere. Quick service. That is, if you are part of a small-ish group. If you go as part of a larger group they will offer the 'party menu'. For our group of 15, this was enough food for about 10 people, and at a more expensive price than if we had all just ordered indvidually.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_traveel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice light afternoon lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Popped in on a Saturday afternoon for a light lunch with friends. There was 3 of us but we only ordered 4 tapas dishes. Food was good, atmosphere was amazing! This is a lovely little place. I could have eaten loads more. I'll be going back just for the prawn toast. They have some lovely cocktails on the menu and the noodle dishes look amazing. I'll be going back one evening to enjoy some good cocktails, great food and to top it off, they have evening entertainment on some nights too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Comfytibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Starters Disappointing Main course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were a group of six, enjoyed the cocktails and the starters. Coconut chicken is a must try. We were very impressed but the main course let us down. We tried lamb curry with jasmine rice, couldn't taste or feel the hint of jasmine in the rice. The veg red curry was good but again the rice was just bland.Spicy chicken noodles were extremely oily, couldn't taste the spice either and the lime leaves just didn't go with the noodles (in the description it said basil but I'm sure the ones in my noodles were not basil.) All in all we were so disappointed with the main course that we decided to skip the dessert.
It was about 21 pounds per head including the tip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango Thai Tapas Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Mango Thai Tapas Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing