We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food. Lovely cocktails. Lovely staff”

Mango Thai Tapas, Above Bar
Ranked #61 of 964 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family-owned and run, Mango Thai Tapas celebrates its 10 year anniversary in 2017! With three Mangos in Southampton, each with their own identity, here at Above Bar, you can enjoy Ko Phi Phi beach vibes with big palm murals and tropical bamboo hut roofs. Ideally located in the centre of town opposite the guildhall, makes this Mango perfect for pairing cocktails and Thai Tapas with an evening to the theatre or concert. Whether you’re in the after-work (or I've-got-a-day-off) club, or headed out disco clubbing, be sure to take advantage of Island cocktail happy hour all day until 7pm and again after 10pm - every day!
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

I've been to mangos quite a few times over the last few years so this review is long overdue. Last night was hands down one of our best trips there. The food was beautiful as it always is but what really stood out was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They were very engaging and funny and at no point encroached on our night. I find it rare to find such staff who enjoy there jobs so much. Especially in catering. Chris was a gem giving us little history lessons with each cocktail we had, he clearly has a passion for it and makes a wonderful Mai Thai the rest of the staff were equally as wonderful but Chris really bought something extra to our evening that made it even more wonderful. This is hands down my fav restaurant in Southampton both for food and atmosphere. If you haven't been before I urge to go there at the earliest opportunity. Thank you Chris and co for another amazing trip to your lovely restaurant

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Omar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

Great. Simply stated, great food, service and price. Been a few times and never disappointed. Streamed Dim Sum my favourite. Easy food and relaxed atmosphere. Always seemed to be popular with those that know what Thai dishes are supposed to taste like. Recommend.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bunyip5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Our meal was to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary. We could not fault the food (other than the overpriced jungle bugs - tiny pot for £3) and the service was efficient and friendly. The only downside, which is quite a big issue when you are going out for a meal, was the position of our table. We were very close to the bar and people standing at the bar were almost sitting on our table and my husband was knocked a few times by handbags as they were standing so close. Not ideal when you are trying to have a romantic meal to celebrate your anniversary.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Madeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Chris box was the best barman we could have ever asked for such an asset to the team, really lively and enjoyable evening. Also nov makes a mean cocktail

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin S, Restaurant Representative at Mango Thai Tapas, Above Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Great feedback thanks Adam :) hope you made use of our 2-4-1 cocktail hour!! See you again sooooon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Asian tapas seems to be the in thing at present - we have had similar food in other places but not been to one of Southampton's Mango restaurants before.
It doesn't look much from the outside and, unlike some of the new chain restaurants in town, they didn't spend a fortune on the interior either but it works and produces an busy but quite cosy atmosphere.
Service was friendly and efficient from the moment we walked in and our waiter was very good in re-ordering with one dish which was spicier than had been requested.
We had a selection of starter/tapas dishes (particularly liked the crispy squid) followed by Thai main courses. Massaman is a mildly safe bet but the Red and Green curries weren't too fiery either and everything was really well cooked.
Mango worked really well for an informal family night out and we were impressed.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DMC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin S, Manager at Mango Thai Tapas, Above Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you for writing us a review – we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed your food. We would like to point out, that although we have 3 Mangos (we've been serving Thai Tapas since 2007 – crazy where 10 years have gone), we aren't a chain like those in the new complex, we are independent and family-run. We put a lot of love into our restaurants, and rely on you great people to keep coming back and having a great time with us! Thanks again for your write-up and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango Thai Tapas, Above Bar also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Mango Thai Tapas, Above Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing