We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ”

Mango Thai Tapas, Above Bar
Ranked #61 of 964 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Family-owned and run, Mango Thai Tapas celebrates its 10 year anniversary in 2017! With three Mangos in Southampton, each with their own identity, here at Above Bar, you can enjoy Ko Phi Phi beach vibes with big palm murals and tropical bamboo hut roofs. Ideally located in the centre of town opposite the guildhall, makes this Mango perfect for pairing cocktails and Thai Tapas with an evening to the theatre or concert. Whether you’re in the after-work (or I've-got-a-day-off) club, or headed out disco clubbing, be sure to take advantage of Island cocktail happy hour all day until 7pm and again after 10pm - every day!
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We visited for the first time this Friday, fantastic food, great service and exceptional knowledge of drinks on offer. Would recommend a visit.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank farmski76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018

Visited this restaurant for the first time for my partner's birthday. Loved the tapas style menu, there was a good choice of drinks, and the staff were attentive and friendly even thought it was a very busy night.
Only thing I could possibly criticize is that that their sliding door style front to the restaurant lets in a draft if you're at a window table, which was a bit chilly in January!
Definitely recommend the crispy beef, coconut chicken and the pandan coconut wrap! Even so, I can't wait to visit again - there's still things on the menu I want to try. Worth booking in advance to ensure you get a table.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debbielianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Went here for a birthday meal and initially had a table by the window. We asked if we could be moved to another table as we were all freezing cold and unable to take our coats off. The waitress was very accommodating and swapped our table, however unfortunately the temperature did not improve. Many other people in the restaurant wore coats throughout their meal. I asked the waitress whether the heating had broken, however this was not the case. Food was variable (there was 5 of us). Staff were very friendly and worked hard, but unfortunately will not be returning. Disappointing visit!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank cladeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Had date night here yesterday evening it was great. Food and service was outstanding, definitely be returning! Love love

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank chlooo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Have been here many times and also had takeaways many times, however recently it has taken a nose dive. Ate here Saturday 9th December early evening, it was freezing cold and the music was so loud we could not hear each other speak. Despite requesting for the music to be turned down there was some dispute going on with the waitress and the manager who (apparently) insisted it stayed up loud. The food was very nice as always but will have to think about visiting again, especially as my daughter had an even worse experience last night (15th December)

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cario189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango Thai Tapas, Above Bar also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Mango Thai Tapas, Above Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing