We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly hectic”
Review of Cafe Rouge Express - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge Express
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slightly hectic”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Have been here a couple of times, although forgot to review the first time, for brunch/lunch. It's fine, but it doesn't do the Cafe Rouge brand many favours. The food is overpriced and not quite good enough and the staff range from great to slightly creepy (especially whoever greeted us at the entrance and didn't stop talking while we tried to decide).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OckhamsRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great service.”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Limited menu, but what was available was really tasty. Friendly staff and great views looking over the city.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unpleasant”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

sadly my food was gloopy and unpleasant. It was noisy and I couldn't wait to leave what we considered to be the quieter end of the café.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will visit again”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend ate here for lunch recently, it was recommended and we thought we would give it a try. As it is an express it obviously is quick service. I didn't think highly of the customer service but then again it was lunch time and busy. You are given a small lunch menu when you join the queue so you can decide what you would like, you then order and pay at the till. You then choose a table to sit at whilst you wait for the food to come to you, I had a ham and cheese croissant, it was lovely and my boyfriend had a burger and chips which he also enjoyed. The quality of the food was excellent and the seating was good too as its away from all the busy food court down below. I would eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Eaten here a few times now. Always have the cooked breakfast. It's very tasty, staff very accommodating about your food choices. Never been disappointed yet. Good quality food, good service and value for money. Def worth a visit

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge Express also viewed

Bursledon, Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Curbridge, Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing