We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star but okay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star but okay for the price”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I booked a double room 6 months prior to arrival so got a good price of £50.00 for the night, and i'm very happy i didnt pay more. Location is great and £4 for the car park isn't anything to moan about. The room itself was a lot smaller than anticipated, though the bed was comfy and the room was clean. The hairdryer wasn't very good (smelt like burning hair) and for a 4 star hotel i expected a bit more than just one sachet of shampoo/conditioner, I didn't think to bring my own as usualy a 4 star supplies these. Our room (306) was facing the high street so noise was ofcourse expected, but nowhere near as much as we got! Double glazed windows wouldnt go a miss. Fortunately we weren't back until about 3am anyway, which is where we were most shocked, because we were locked out! We got out the taxi and the main door was blocked by a huge padlocked gate, so having to walk around in the pouring rain we had to walk right round the back entrance by the car park, which gate was also closed (luckily not locked) and go in the back way. There was no nightporter to be seen so security was a bit of a concern aswell. For the price i paid and the fact it was only one night to get a few hours sleep, it was fine, but i really did expect more for a Mercure Hotel and wouldn't choose to stay here again. I actually prefer Etap at £39 a room!

Room Tip: 306 is very noisy as its facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaffatinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I really appreciate your feedback.

In regards to your return in the early hours the gates are locked for security reasons and is in no means meant to 'lock anyone out', on the front gate is a door bell that needs to be pressed and the night team will let you into the hotel. There is also a mobile number printed at the front that can also be used.

Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope you will return to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    494
    379
    212
    131
See reviews for
242
652
107
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Booked this hotel as a 1 night trip away as a birthday present for my other half , was really pleased to find 4 star accom with breakfast for £61 !!! Living in Portsmouth we were quite familiar with Southampton and made a dinner reservation with a restaurant about a 5 min walk away for 830 pm . Travelling up after work we aimed to arrive around 730 pm drop our bags in freshen up and make our way to the restaurant . Unfortunately not . When producing our documents at check in it was becoming apparant to myself and the small line of guests to be checked in that something was not running to plan , receptionist then adv that she did not have a reservation and went off to find a manager for some further investigation , having already pre paid and had clear documentation showing this all be it through a third party booking agent i was not to concerned althou was starting to feel slightly embarrassed about the queue forming behind me .
After about 5 mins manager appearred with receptionist , cue more puzzled looks and discussions between the 2 of them ,outcome me being told that the reservation could not be found and they were unable to contact the booking agent at that time 8 pm being conscious of the upcoming dinner reservation I was told that as I clearly had paymnt deducted and accomm voucher the hotel would accommodate us (how generous) but as standard room rate was £99 they would need a pre authorisation to hold this money of my debit card .
Now by this time late for restaurant having to call and ask them to hold the table , i handed over my card , and check in process finally began , but with no time to freshen up or even check out our room we headed out for our meal .
Cue a slightly spoiled birthday meal due to me actually realising what had just happened and moaning about it to my other half for most of the meal , choosing not to carry on our evening as i was worked up now we headed back to the hotel where i was ready to disucuss matter further with reception . Before we even reached the desk the same lady from earlier stated they had found our reservation and cancelled our pre auth although this may take a few days when pushed further she did admit the mix up was due to Mercure and not the booking agent or myself and was buried deep in another system althou apologetic and extremely nice natured i do feel that as the hotel was found to be at fault perhaps in this situation something more than an apology was required as it did impact greatly on our evening perhaps upgrade from standard double , a drink at the bar nothing amazing but something to make amends
Having said this we loved the hotel we were allocated room 15 on ground floor think may be the one on the profile pic as looks almost identical great size , huge bed , nice temp , clean could not fault it , we were at back of property it looks like so no noise issues and a good nights sleep was had .
In morning awoken few times by slamming doors early am but understand this could be guests and not staff so not really an issue made our way to breakfast , again impressed wide variety , buffet style , food was good , hot , nice setting , little touches flowers on table , ambience lightening made all difference , tables seemed to be cleared efficently , good atmosphere and host in eyeshot all the time .
Grabbing our bags we headed to check out to which a diff receptionist dealt with us when she took our name the response was "Oh Mr .... we were just talking about you " obv about the events of the previous night but this again left a bitter taste in our mouths and confirmed that it did seem to be a talking point amongst check in .
Overall we had a really nice stay at the hotel , and had it not been for the events of them losing our reservation and the time spent trying to rectify this leaving a lasting impact on our evening and the lack of what we feel appropriate resolution to make us feel like a genuine apology was meant not to mention the hotel still having a hold on my money for next 2 days unneccessarily until cancellation goes through we would have voted this much higher .
It has marred our visit .
What a shame a one off incident and way it was dealt with was the only thing we could find fault with . If all had gone to plan it would have been excellent value for excellent service and we would have returned for another stay .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeysizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am very concerned to read of the problems you encountered with your reservation for which I sincereley apologise. I will be personally investigting the matter but would like to assure you that such issues are not common place at the hotel.

I was pleased to read that apart from this issue you did enjoy the hotel and I do hope you will choose to stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolpin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

A colleague and I stayed here for one night on a business trip as it was a reasonable price and had good reviews. it's a nice looking hotel with a friendly atmosphere. We didn't try the bar or restaurant as we were meeting other colleagues, but they looked inviting.
We had rooms on the top (4th) floor. Mine had a bit of a view over towards the docks, but be aware that the lift only goes to the 3rd floor so you have to carry your bags up a couple of small flights. Wasn't a problem for us with our small bags.
Room decorated nicely and a decent size with a double bed. Colleagues of ours booked into the Star (a few doors away) for the same price and they only got single beds in tiny rooms. Comparing notes, our hotel was far superior.
We only wanted somewhere cheap to eat out, so went to the Wetherspoons (Standing Order) a couple of doors away - cheap and cheerful. Tuesday night is steak night, with steak and a drink for less than £7. there did seem to be several restaurants nearby.
the hotel is old, so there isn't any soundproofing between the rooms and the floors are really creaky. Glad I was on the top floor so I didn't have anyone creaking above me.
Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet with an impressive range of food - cereals, fruit, bread, cooked breakfast items etc. My only criticism is that the tomatoes and mushrooms were covered with pepper which not everyone likes. There wasn't a big supply of hot food out, but it was replenished as necessary and therefore was fresh.
I'd stay again whether for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: the front rooms on the top floor do have a bit of a view across to the docks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hondabird007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your contructive comments that will be taken on board.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I been staying at this hotel for a conference at Southampton.
I do know why or where tehy get for stars from/for!
Definitelly not as advertised ......is not teh only mercure taht i have stayed adn found to be all the same!
Shocking
Very noisy and really cold as no aircon in room was working!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itai12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest

I am in receipt of your review following your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I would have welcomed the opportunity of speaking with you before you left the hotel and I am slightly confused with the content of your review.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I have stayed there for 2 days conference.
the building nice as historical,hotel itself?
Not really a 4 stars maybe a superior 2.
Average hotel,small rooms and very noisy and warm.
I would not stay tehre in future if i can avoid it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am glad to read you enjoyed the history of the buidling and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar, Europe
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Well situated. Always enjoy staying in hotels with history such as this one, castles, palaces monasteries, mansions, manors, Paradores in Spain.,etc. Found climb from 3rd floor lift to the 4th floor irksome though.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomad909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel.

I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose to stay with us again before your next cruise departure.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here on business for 2 nights in October, room was comfortable and modern with a quirky in layout. Only criticism would be the lack of working area as the tea tray took up most of the space on the table . Food was tasty and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tillycass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Your comments have been noted and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 25 in Southampton
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#24 of 25 in Southampton
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing