We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,678)
Filter reviews
1,678 results
Traveller rating
336
533
428
232
149
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
533
428
232
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomhigh streetone way systemcruise packagecity centrethe hotel car parkoxford streetstayed here for one nightisle of wightfull englishgood nights sleepcruise terminaldolphinswetherspoonsportannexdocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,258 - 1,263 of 1,678 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Even though we only live 60 miles from Southampton we decided to go up the night before our cruise on the Cruise and Park package. Not sure what to expect after reading some of the comments but in our view it all went very well.
The room we had was on the bottom floor yes a little small but very well appointed. Check in was easy and we did get there a little early this was not a problem. The staff very helpful and the checking of the car very good also arranging a taxi to take us to the Ship (around 6 pounds) the next morning.
In the morning I must say the buffet Breakfast was excellent and the staff on breakfast were good, though it was quiet so not to busy. Quality of the food very good
Picking our car up after the cruise was easy the car was already for us in fact the taxi took us to the Car Park bags straight out of the taxi in to our car, into reception a lady came out and checked the car with us all was ok I signed for the car and the keys we were on the Road by 10 am, Though the lady said we could leave our car there if we wanted to do a little shopping before going home.
So we would do this again as it is not much more than just paying for a car park.
The Car park is around the back of the Hotel so you should plan your route.

Room Tip: We had a low floor away from the Main Street so quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WayneDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on our park and cruise package.

We really appreciate your feedback and I was pleased to read how well the parking facility worked for you as we have looked at how we can make it easier for our guests so I am pleased to read we are achieiving this!

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel before your next cruise departure.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We have recently stayed here for a few weekends over the past few months as we have been doing our powerboat licences in Southampton. What a fantastic base to have... The rooms, the staff, and the best hotel cooked breakfasts we have ever had!
The staff are attentive and can't do enough for you... They always make polite conversation in the restaurant and are genuinely interested in your day ahead... This is so refreshing, as in most hotels you are just another paying guest! I think they set out an excellent template and example for other, large hotel chains to follow!
Well done and thanks to all the staff and management for making our stays so relaxing and enjoyable... Look forward to seeing you very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stays with us.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stays and will pass on your kind words to the team who I know will be very proud of your feedback.

Thank you for the feedback on breakfast I will ensure this is fed back to the kitchen brigade.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

and the plumbing might have been here at the time, but, in spite of some of the eccentricities inherent in a 400 plus year old property, we had a nice stay here. The location is good, close to the center of old town (although there are the strip clubs noted in other reviews, we had no issues even on a weekend night) and the staff is lovely - very efficient, accomodating, and helpful. The aforementioned plumbing - the toilet in our first floor (2nd in the US) room facing the parking lot required a couple of 'priming' flushes before it would engage and flush fully, but once conquered, it was at least consistent in its behavior. The sink, a much more recent addition in heavy green glass - a little 'moderne' for such an antique property - had so much water pressure in the faucet that it took quite a gentle touch to keep it from splashing up and wetting the mirror and the surrounding area. There was no refrigerator in the room, but there was a safe, and coffee/tea making supplies. The room was smallish, but no worse than most European rooms and larger than some. Beds were comfortable and linens and appointments were quite nice. All in all it was a pleasant enough place for a pre-or post-cruise stay and it was substantially raised above average by the staff. The young man on duty in the evening of our check in was very helpful, most efficient in checking us in and gave us very good directions to the Premier Inn West Quay where our friends were staying. There are a number of restaurants and coffee shops in the immediate area - we found good take out at a Malaysian place a couple of blocks away, and there was also a great coffee shop within a block or so for our morning breakfast. The pedestrian area of High Street had a street market on Saturday morning, as well, and the West Quay Shopping Mall is in easy walking distance. The same young man was on duty in the morning when we were ready to depart and quickly and efficiently managed a large number of cruisers requiring taxis to the port. The quality of the staff here elevates this property substantially - everyone we encountered was friendly and polite and asked if there were anything they could do to help us - and we would return next time we are departing from Southampton.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quiet, but getting there from the elevator was a bit challenging with several doors and a couple of level changes (two or three steps) between. We were 'bag dragging' and on reflection, would have probably done better to let the bellman bring up our luggage. Location was quiet enough, and we slept quite well.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KohalaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us.

We really apprecitae your feedback and hpe we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is one of the old and original Southampton hotels that played a large part in Southampton’s early days of sail. It is some 500 years old and was reputedly a hotel frequented by Sea Captains before and after great voyages.

Today the hotel is in good exterior shape for it’s age but may not measure up to people wanting something a bit more modern.

The first impression is the Reception Area which is shabby and desperately in need of a “do up”.

Then to find my room on the second floor was a bit like being in a rabbit warren with funny staircases, creaky floorboards and twists and turns in the corridors and then a rather staid and tired room.

Didn’t use the restaurant, although we had intended to do so and popped into the bar for a pre-dinner drink. However after experiencing the regimented and arrogant, bordering on rude, attitude of the woman running the bar we decided to quit whilst we were ahead and go somewhere else.

How on earth the Dolphin got it's Four Star rating is certainly difficult to understand. We travel the world staying at Three, Four and Five Star hotels and in our experience the Dolphin is nowhere even close to being a Four Star.

All in all a bit of a disappointing stay. Originally we booked at the Dolphin to revisit earlier memories (which time and again can often be a mistake).

As it was we found no evidence of the hotel playing to it’s past glory and eminence as one of the great historical hotels of Southampton which would have really given it an identity and made it stand out from it’s competitors. As it is, the Dolphin is just another hotel with a good location but a rather shabby and uninteresting interior.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPCNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing our stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I appreciate your feedback that will be used as to help us move the hotel foward.

In response to your comments regarding the history of the hotel we are very proud that we have been able to re open one of the oldest buildings in Southampton. During the refurbishment we were very sensitive to this and indeed restored many of the buildings features. We have a number of interesting articles on display in the reception area including the hotels history and a list of all the 'inn keepers' since the hotel.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the city.

knd regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had never stayed at a Mercure hotel before and were attracted by the offer of a 'pre cruise overnight stay' at a special rate. Bed and breakfast, dinner and 14 days free parking, all for the sume of £179 which was only £39 more than the cost of port parking. The room was delightful, one of the ground floor newly refurbished rooms, the car parking arrangements were efficient and our luggage (a lot!) was safely stored overnight. Dinner was excellent,good choices, friendly and willing staff, all in a pleasant attractively decorated dining room. Breakfast was just as good, mainly self service from a buffet but there were extra items which could be ordered (there are not many hotels offering Eggs Benedict). It was apparent when collecting our luggage that the special offer had many takers, as the reception was full of couples collecting luggage prior to joining cruises. The hotel had booked taxis to the several ports and it all went very smoothly. Congratulations to the reception staff for their efficiency, and equal congrats. to the unseen cleaning ladies who keepthis hotel looking very smart.
We had not experienced a Mercure hotel before but we are looking forward to staying at one purely on a leisure basis. Well done Dolphin

Room Tip: Rooms along the passage are excellent
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coalabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed our park and cruise package which as you quite righly state is very popular. I will ensure your kind word are communciated to the reception and housekeeping teams.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back before your next crusie departure.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews