We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy stay before boarding ship” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Easy stay before boarding ship”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We booked two rooms for one night before boarding the QM2 for a westbound crossing. The property is an older property and has character. The rooms were comfortable and the staff friendly. The location was fine for exploring some of Southampton before boarding.

The remains of the historic Holyrood Church are literally next door and one of the anchors from the QE2 is practically in front of the property. There are other remnants of historical Southampton that survived the bombing blitz of 1940 within short walking distance from the Dolphin making this a great place to stay in Southampton.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denverflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing you stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your visit, we are very luckly to be surrounded by many of the orginal features of this great city in being loctaed in 'the old town'.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back before your next cruise departure.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    472
    356
    195
    119
See reviews for
224
614
100
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Two years ago we came to this hotel for Christmas lunch - it was amazing. We decided to visit again this year as we had been so impressed - the experience was horrendous. Firstly we were told as we arrived that none of us had ordered fish even though my sister had rung up the previous week to order our food. We were made to feel as if it was our fault. Our starters were brought and the waiter had no idea what he was serving - when my brother in law asked what it was, he said he had better go back to the kitchen to find out. The haddock was inedible - it was so overcooked, my fork was literally bouncing off of it! The carvery was very poor and was NOT worth the £50 we had been charged. The beef was tough and impossible to cut, the stuffing had been deep fried and the yorkshire puddings were rock hard. The desserts were edible but served with no flourish or finesse considering we had paid £50 a head. There were very few staff on and those who were working seemed to have no idea whatsoever. Unfortunately this restaurant's Christmas meal experience has gone totally downhill and we will certainly not be returning again. My sister will be writing to head office as our Christmas lunch was totally ruined. Christmas musical entertainment was promised on the hotel's website but when we arrived there was nothing and the atmosphere was very bland. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Guest

I am sorry to read of your disapointment for which I sincereley apologise we will be in touch with your party to resolve the issues.

In the meantime apologises again from all the team here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

We took an offer combined with seacity tickets for a stay with dinner, and overall had a very pleasant experience. The room was small, but clean, quiet and all we needed for a night. The dinner was good and we would come again. Breakfast buffet including lots of different cooked choices was also nice and we had a very good start to the next day. The only minuses maybe are the charges for the car park (£4) and wifi (£12.50 for 24 hrs). Next day was Sunday and we took the guided toor from Bargate through the old town (£3 at 11am), which we enjoyed. The guide mentioned that one of the rooms was haunted by a maid that was killed there, but we did not had the chance to meet her... ;)

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SpinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will choose to stay with us again here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night in November. The hotel is well appointed, although my room was on the top floor, and fairly small.
The food in the restaurant was nice, although the portions were quite small. No gym or pool makes this hotel not such a good business hotel, although the city centre location is a bonus.
Would rather stay in Botley park than here, for around the same price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel we appreciate your feedback.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I lived in Southampton as a student and used to walk past the Dolphin when it was a run down hotel. So when I heard that Mecure had a bought an rennovated this grand old building and I was staying down in the area on business I thought I'd give it a go. Great first impression in the lobby area and the bedroom was to a high standard. Unfortunately they had clearly got bored by the time they got to the bathroom and left the grimey old bath and moldy tiles in. At least I could re-live my student days with a musty smelling bathroom. Mecure why didn't you finish the job? (Room 10 if you fancy sorting it out!). On the plus side the restaurant area is lovely and the breakfast was excellent. It is also only a very short walk from the restaurants on Oxford Street.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTerrierTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following you stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I have noted your commnets and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanharan, Wales
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at the Dolphin for a pre Xmas break. It is well located in central Southampton. Adequate car parking spaces are located at the rear but only accessed via Back of the Walls Street. The hotel does charge £4 a day for a non secure car park, but I observed what appeared to be random local users parking there – apparently no checks made.
It is an old rambling hotel, but in a good state of repair with clean and bright decor. Our room was accommodating and clean with a comfortable large bed, and Freeview TV and safe box. Complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits were provided. Yes, it had a sloping floor – one should complain if one doesn’t get one in an old hotel – it is said that Shakespeare once performed in the courtyard (a play, that is!)
The bathroom was functional but the ceiling was in need of attention to flaking paint and peeling paper, while “the hotel inspector” would undoubtedly focus on small black markings in the corners of the tile grouting near the bath taps.
Breakfast was very good with a wide range of foods and plenty of fresh and freshly prepared fare. It was taken in the pleasant Signatures restaurant with a plentiful supply of news papers.
We dined there one night and found the service excellent. The steaks were delicious. However, at £21.95 for the special offer two courses it wasn’t particularly cheap. The prices were also £2 dearer than the bedroom menu. The cheapest bottle of red wine was £14.95.
Near the hotel is a good range of restaurants – we had an enjoyable meal in La Luna Italian just across the road.
Southampton itself is a self contradiction. Icons such as the splendid Sea Life museum, the swish Quay West shopping mall and the medieval area around the West Gate surround very dowdy post Second World War development with little architectural merit.
We were also astonished to find that the council had scrapped Xmas lights and trees as an economy measure. Hard to reconcile with a web site that advertises its Xmas Market (a high proportion of fast food stalls!)
Also, thank goodness for a recently purchased Sat Nav – town centre junctions are devoid of signs for the motorist trying to get out!

Room Tip: Rooms at rear would be quieter at night - bars and restaurants face the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Llanharan_WalesLlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was delighted to read overall you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate all your feedback that will of course be addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Cenre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing