We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Star Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Harbour Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,663)
Filter reviews
1,663 results
Traveller rating
336
530
422
228
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
530
422
228
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomhigh streetone way systemcruise packagecity centrethe hotel car parkoxford streetstayed here for one nightisle of wightfull englishgood nights sleepcruise terminaldolphinswetherspoonsportannexdocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,217 - 1,222 of 1,663 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Good Hotel for a cruise and park hotel. Positioned very near the centre of Southampton. A nice gentle stroll to the shops. The hotel itself is clean and bright with good comfy beds. The breakfast is buffet style so as much as you can eat and the food is good quality.
A Wetherspoon pub is practically next door so a cheap pint and evening meal is possible if you are on a budget

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALECTRICIANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing you recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your park and cruise package and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back before your next cruise.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed a night here while visiting family.

The hotel is a lovely historic building with plenty of charm and character. It oozes atmosphere and has plenty of touches that give it a real character. We were given a very nice room at the back, which was quiet and comfortable. The furnishings were in tune with the character of the building. The bathroom was large, warm and very clean. The hotel entrance revolving door was just brilliant. Totally inconvenient for us with our luggage, but so characterful and of another epoch.

The staff we encountered were very courteous and helpful and offered good suggestions for drinks and food.

The hotel has its own geocache in the car park!

Only three areas we had issues with. Parking took us ages, first to find it as must have gone round in a circle about 5 times before spotting the sign on the alley behind the hotel, and then to grab a space as it was full due to an event. Secondly, the bed was clean but two really obese people must have used it before as it had deep dips. Third, there is no real ale on tap in the hotel bar and wifi is pricey anyway, so we went to Weatherspoons, less than a minute up the road for our drinks and to use the internet as they have free wifi.

However, all in all, we loved this place and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Head to Weatherspoons for real ale and free wifi (it's 5 pounds for an hour's use in the hotel!)
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all your feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The lounge and bar areas are nice and comfy, bar food reasonable and tasty, staff very polite and friendly. The hotel is very central to shopping - West Quay is an easy 5-10 minute walk away. Having said all that, this is NO WAY a 4 star hotel; the bedrooms were very tatty, carpet all "rucked up", there was a hole in the corner of the bathroom floor, the tiling grouting was grubby, beds not made properly, pillows SO hard that we both woke up with headaches from neck ache/strain. Compare this with The White Hart Mercure in Salisbury, also a 4 star, and they are WORLDS apart - (that one is gorgeous). I assumed that being a Mercure, the standard would be the same, but no.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catwoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I was sorry to read of your concerns for which I sincereley apologise. There is always a duty manager available, who could have made your stay more enjoyable, if they had been made aware of the situation.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We struggled to find the entrance to the car park and went in circles for a bit. We had a very good stay, in a family room, the windows rattled a little at night, but that's just because its a very old building. The mattress on our bed was rather old, it had his and hers dips so if one tried to get close to the other you would roll back to your own side! The food was nice best bit of steak I've had in a while! My sister had a Caesar salad and it had fish on top of it! Apparently Caesar salad is served with anchovies...maybe it's a posh thing but we never had fish on our salad! Drinks are pricey we spent a small fortune at the bar. All in all we had a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masterjjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and will ensure your feedback is communicated to our Head Chef.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel having paid an excellent price for our room. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and there was a personal touch so often lacking in a chain hotel. Our room was small but it was warm,comfortable and we slept very well. The room was at the back of the hotel and therefore quiet. Dinner was good as again was the service. This is a very old Grade two listed building with an interesting history and comparisons with a modern build would in my opinion be unfair.We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadiner450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and were impressed by the high quality of service, I will ensure your kind words are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews