We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Mercure Southampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Location of hotel was good with many excellent restaurants nearby. Room was poor - decoration was tired, bedside lights were ineffectual. The bathroom had no curtain at the window and with the light on, it was easily overlooked from a corridor used to access several other rooms. The layout of the bathroom was poor and the handbasin had no soap holder. State of the surface of the car park was very poor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank _karjabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I was sorry to read of your poor experience for which I sincerely apologise, these matters will be investigated.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the Easter weekend. Great location, plesant staff, clean and had everything that you required. We had room 206 & 208 which where to the rear of the hotel overlooking the car-park and on level 2 , these room were quite. We ate in the restaraunt on Saturday evening . The food was lovelly and the staff very accomadating. Would recomend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen250360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed the quality of food and will ensure your kind words are passed onto the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

It's amazing. The hotel is a true value for money , beeing situated in the center of sOUTHAMPTON, AND HAS 4 STAR FACILITIES. THE ROOMS ARE ENORMOUS, AND THE FACILITIES TRULLY GOOD. I'll recomned to everyone who want to spend some time in Southampton. The staff is very kind and welcoming. Don't miss it !

Room Tip: Ask for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Myself & a friend stayed for 3 nights. On booking online I had requested a room near the lift but we were given a disabled ground-floor front one, with a bus-stop right outside the window (people talking outside sounded like they were in our room!), plus traffic noise and a nightclub across the road meant interrupted sleep till the early hours. The beds were comfortable though! The wardrobe was barely big enough for 2 people's clothes so a good job it wasn't a long stay. My friend had to request a replacement iron as the one in the room was dirty. The bathroom had a welcome heated towel-rail but nothing much else to commend it - the "wet-room" shower set-up meant that the rest of the bathroom floor got wet as the curtain was inadequate, also it was difficult to get the water temperature much above "warm". Worse, we had NO hot water in the washbasin for the first 2 days in spite of apparent attempts to sort the problem. Plus there was not enough shelf space for 2 ladies' toiletries (and what there was was in the wrong place - nowhere near either the shower or basin. Possibly this lack of space led to the cleaner putting my friend's partly-open shampoo container inside her MAKE-UP bag, the resulting mess can be imagined I'm sure!! We were assured by reception that this would be investigated and did find the staff friendly and helpful and the food good, also liked the hotel's location in the old town area of Southampton, so provided we got a better quality of room next time, would be prepared to give it another chance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 90Christine90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I really appreciate the detailed feedback and I do hope you will give the hotel another chance.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Classed as a 4* our room was anything but. Even though it was good value the room it'self was very disappointing. (room 309) We were over looking the front of the hotel opposite a bar which on a Friday night was very noisy, it was a hot room even with the heating turned down so we had to open windows. The windows both inside and out were filthy and it was dusty everywhere - it was like the room hadn't been stayed in for a while and they hadn't freshened it up. There was what looked like mould in the corner of the lounge area of the room and all the paint was peeling off the walls. The bed was... ok - we wanted a double and got 2 singles pushed together with a very bad dip in the middle and the pillows were like rocks!. The bathroom wasn't up to the standared of a 4 star by any stretch. there as no where to put anything! - it was all just tired and dated and in need of a clean and re-dec. The location was great for the shops and bars etc but would think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: dont choose 309 - it's a big room but not nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jersey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback, I was sorry to read that your experience was not to our usual standards for which I sincereley apologise. I would like to assure you your feedback will be addressed with my team.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and were pleasantly surprised by the decor and size of the room for the money (£69) The room had a disabled adapted bathroom and was in the building opposite the main hotel reception. We had thought of upgrading but were pleased we did not bother. My family live in Southampton and told me of the local reviews which had complemented the hotel on its new decor and restaurant. After a leisurely drink in a very pleasant bar area we ate in the restaurant and had an excellent meal. 2 courses £17.95 and 3 courses £21.95. Would I stay again? - yes I would.
My only critisism was that finding the car park involves going around the building on a one way system rather than through the old gateway, so print the map and that finding a parking spot was difficult but we did succeed. Spaces were tight as the layout is a bit bizarre. We did not get there until 7pm but be warned.There is currently also some building work still going on, I assume to complete the refurbishment but it was not near the front of the hotel or our room. However we stayed on a Saturday night when building work was not taking place. We did not stay for breakfast but can confirm it is a buffet style.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are facing the main road so those facing the inner passageway I would say are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilmslow-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thak you for your review following your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and could see the improvements we have made. The bulding work on the building at the back of the hotel is to create an additional nine bedrooms that should be available shortly. We are pleased that this work is progrssing well and any 'noisy works' that have been minimul have now been completed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night (thankfully) The room was very small and claustrophobic, if we had any amount of luggage there would of been nowhere to store it. the bath and shower had mould around it and the bedding was atrocious,mega thin duvet and pillows.
These factors I would of overlooked, as it was for one night and at £45 very cheap, you get what you pay for! The problem I had was with the pigeons nesting in the guttering above our room. they starting cooing at first light, about 5.30am and would not be deterred by banging on the window. They soon turned myself & hubby into Dastardly & Muttley!!! and forced us to checkout earlier than we had expected to.
To add insult to injury the woman working checkout didn't even ask how my stay had been! where are their staff's manners & training? I left disgruntled and regretting going cheap! unfortunately after staying at the Geelong Mercure in December I thought Mercure was a brand I could trust.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaygenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I was sorry to read there were elements of yor stay you were not happy with, clearly I will address the points relating to my team and the bedroom, however I think your comments regarding the pigeon are a little unfair!

I do hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 25 in Southampton
997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £54 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing