We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but shabby and caotic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quaint but shabby and caotic”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Having read that this central hotel had been updated we decided to treat ourseves rather than go to the standard city travel hotels. The hotel its self is centrally located on the high street 3 minutes walk to West Quay shopping mall. On checking in the reception staff were professional and informative and I noted that the communal areas were modern and clean taking a peek in the attractive bar and dinning room.
However we were then directed to a tiny lift just big enough for us both and two large suitcases. Our room was located some distance from the lift and we had to negotiate doors and extra steps in the hunt for our room. The hallways or corridors were painted a cold grey colour.The room itself was disappointing. I think it was located in the 'older' part of the hotel. Apart from the plus points of free Wifi and T & C facilities the spacious room felt just drab and unwelcoming. The bathroom needed maintenance with a leaking toilet overflow dripping all night, the sink fitted on the wall on a slant that it looked like if you leaned against it it would fall off and the shower hose connection was broken. I really felt that the overhaul of this part of the hotel compared to the public rooms had either been forgotten or wasn't properly maintained.There also was a problem with the telephone system the 2 nights we stayed with apology notices on the lift doors.
When we arrived we didn't see any other guests but on checkout which was conveniently up to midday we couldn't move for other guests and their luggage who were also trying to check out and just hanging around waiting for transport.This explained the long wait for the lift . Everyone seemed to be checking out the same time to get a cruise.The reception area resembled an airport baggage arrival belt! There didn't seem to be any staff available to help with the luggage and bedlam that was unfolding. I even heard some ladies in the corner complaining that the taxi they had ordered had been taken by someone else ! Complete chaos and not a good start to a nice cruise! In future I will be going back to the tried and tested travel hotels that have the space and facilities for a calming departure!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspoppy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing you stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I really appreciate your feedback that will be addressed, I can confirm the issue with the telephones which happend a number of weeks ago was a one off problem that has now been resolved.

There are occasions when we have an influx of guests check out at a similar time at such times the hotel does get very busy however we do manage the situation and I do feel your comments on this point are unfair. The feedback we get from our park and cruise package guests is consistently good as you will see from other reviews.

Thank you again for your feedback.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    489
    377
    204
    131
See reviews for
239
645
103
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A party of 22 of us stayed at this hotel on 28th June and thought the hotel was fantastic.

The staff were very helpful (even when we had to get the doors unlocked at 3:30am!), the amenities were fantastic and the location was within walking distance to the shops and the port.

The hotel is really quirky with corridors going in different directions but there are signs to prevent you from getting lost and it adds to the charm!

I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

Thank you for the excellent stay and I hope we weren't too loud!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reveiwing your stay with us.

We are delighted you and your party enjoyed your stay and will ensure your kind words are shared with the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel itself is not too bad but the night we stayed it was quite hot and there is no air conditioning so it made sleeping difficult.

The decor of the hotel was quite nice and we had a good dinner in the hotel, followed by a very nice breakfast in the moring; the brekafast was tasty and had a good range of food. The staff we also friendly and helpful too.

The location is quite good, not too far of a walk from Southampton central railway station and it is situation in the old town so good for viewing the city walls or the other historical things within the old city, such as the Tudor House and Gardens, as well as being quite close to the Ferry terminals.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and given how hot it was we really had to have the windows open, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denzal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recenet stay here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

We really appreciate all your comments and were pleased to read you enjoyed the food, I will ensure your kind words are communicated to our kitchen brigade who will be delighted.

We do hope we will be welcoming you back very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Not particuarly impressed so far. Waited ten minutes for someone to bother coming to reception, despite asking someone in the bar to help. Bless him he wandered aimlessly but to no avail. Very very hot room despite having window open. The desk fan is a waste of space as can't keep that on all night - it's going to be a long night.

Food OKish but nothing to go out of your way for. Think I managed to find two pieces of chicken in the homemade chicken pie which was more pastry than filling.

Putting average for sleep although not yet had any but know it won't be good due to lack of ventilation.

Carpet and walls could do with a spruce up.

Disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I have noted your comments and will be addressing these with my team.

I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin and proving your experience is not reflective of the high standards we offer.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for one night pre cruise, we were allocated a room across the Courtyard, which was clean and comfortable.

The bar is pleasant, but it took the waitress 3 attempts to get my order of an orange juice and lemonade correct, first it was an Archers and lemonade, then an Archers and orange juice before being what I ordered.

I was woken early (before 8 am) by loud conversation outside our window on the ground floor, I assumed this to be inconsiderate guests. However, after 15 minutes it continued down the corridor and into the service/maintenance area next to our room. A quick call to the reception desk and the issue was resolved. These are my reasons for marking service down on this occasion.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for for taking the time to review your stay we really appreciate you feedback which will be taken on board and addressed.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel before your next cruise departure.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

After walking through what could only be compared to a maze of corridors I managed to find my room tucked away in a very dark corner. Without looking too closely the very small room looked adequate however the array of stains on the carpet, scuffs on the walls, the missing handle from the bath and quite a bit of dust was a disappointment. There was no soap dish in the bathroom and a wooden shelf which had seen better days with chipped paint, a simple soap dish would have prevented this. This lack of attention to detail is what makes me question the 4 star status.... The squeaky floor boards didn't bother me as I understand that the building is old however the tatty decor was not that of a 4 star quality. A cigarette burn on the bed spread/runner thingy, not good enough I am afraid. Privacy was an issue also as our room was overlooked by another. A voile would have sorted this problem. In terms of quality of sleep myself and my partner both slept well and the bed was very comfy. Coming back to the corridors, the drab colour resembled a prison and was actually quite creepy! A light is needed outside room 118! A re decoration would be good as the building is quirky and interesting and deserves a bit of love! Sorry!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I appreciate your detailed feedback and can assure you the parts we are able to change quickly will be addressed immediately.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#24 of 24 in Southampton
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing