We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,678)
Filter reviews
1,678 results
Traveller rating
336
533
428
232
149
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
533
428
232
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomhigh streetone way systemcruise packagecity centrethe hotel car parkoxford streetstayed here for one nightisle of wightfull englishgood nights sleepcruise terminaldolphinswetherspoonsportannexdocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,087 - 1,092 of 1,678 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here 2 nights before a cruise in July. Nice lobby and very friendly staff. I would stay here again before a cruise, just not in July or August. NO A/C and they were experiencing higher than normal daytime temperatures. That aside, the location is great. You are within walking distance to several PUBS, restaurants and the cruise line docks. Also very large shopping center a few blocks away. We were in a ground floor room at the rear of the building and it was very quiet. No street noise that others have mentioned.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARKHDTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel for your pre cruise stay.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in one of our ground floor rooms and have noted your contructive feedback which we really appreciate.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Perfect to walk to everything. Lobby was nice. Rooms are ok. No sir conditioning. We were able to get a small fan and keep window open no screens. Rooms are odd and old feel. Our room was a small one. It's an old hotel bathroom was large. Staff was nice and pleasant and helpful. Convenient for a night before a cruise. Not sure how the more expensive rooms would be like. I would stay again for convenience . Us standards. Just ok hallway rugs old. Walls need painting.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lltravel04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

We really appreciate your feedback that will be addressed and I do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very Pleasant Hotel..Quite close to all of the attractions. Ideal for viewing the cruise ships. This was why we went - We had a look around the Oriana before it sailed. - We stayed 2 x nights in the Dolphin - easy to get to from the Airport - the Unilink stops outside - We only had breakfasts in the hotel - but there were lots coming in on a night to eat - the spread on a morning was very good -- lovely sausages !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the sausages, I will ensure your feedback is shared with the kitchen brigade.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Found this place via the tourist accommodation in Southampton.
At the time it was offering B & B for two with up to 14 days parking for £135 although our needs were just for 7 days.. Surprisingly this also included taxis to and from the ship. I believe this changes depending on availability, as to be expected.
Our stay was pleasant service and food was exceptionally good, location is excellent near to both the main street and close to the port.
Although this hotel is old and reasonably well maintained our only quibble is of the curtain rail hanging from its fixings making it nearly impossible to close the curtains reported at 3pm on our arrival and not dealt with buy the time we left, shame about this as regardless, we shall still be returning in the future, the cost was £60 less than others who, at the time, offered just 7 night parking for £195. Try the Chinese restaurant (Royal Wok) opposite it is great!

Room Tip: Do not take a room facing the main street because of the noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel for your pre cruise stay.

Appreciate all your feedback and apologise that the curtain was not fixed, this has now been addressed, but pleased to read you enjoyed your stay overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A one night stay in warm weather. Room clean and comfortable with a very large bathroom. Rather hot and you can definitely tell you are near the sea with persistent seagull noise. Good central location and lots of restaurant choice.
I would have expected a better breakfast for the rating - a buffet which is like they always are with variable temperature food. My pet hate is those toasters which don't actually produce toast which then gets soggy as no toast rack supplied -same here. I also object to paying for the car park - it was hotel land and not a commercial operation run by another company so why charge? It just seems mean as the hotel not cheap.

Room Tip: Just be warned about seagulls and car park charge.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I appreciate all your feedback which will be taken on baord.

In regards to the seagulls unfortunately that is something that comes with staying in a hotel by the sea!

We hope to have the plasure of welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews