We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying very hard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trying very hard”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A seasoned Mecure guest, I was a little disappointed by the Dolphin Hotel.

First impressions, decent sized car park at rear of this very old city centre hotel. Obviously constrained by the building, the layout is somewhat dis-jointed, but giving a little character.
Check-in was fine, I asked for an upgrade as an A-Card holder, was informed I had a complimentary upgrade, but clearly not to a Privilege Room. It was a bit of trek to the room up the lift, up and down half flights of stairs and down long corridors. The room was a good size and decorated like most Mecures, the bathroom was down some steps separate to the room and a little cold and stark with older fittings - not modern marble topped. Staff were friendly, well trained and courteous.
I felt the bar and restaurant prices were a little steep, but I think they cater well for the cruise ship trade and price accordingly. Southampton is a little run down despite the massive West Quay development and feel prices were OTT compared to rest of town.
Breakfast was good - but being down South there was no Black Pudding! They serve it in London Mecures & Novotels now you know!
I think the staff and management are trying very hard, given the constraints of the old building, but unfortunately it doesn't match up to other Mecures elsewhere in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and thoughts on the hotel that will help us to improve the service and products we offer.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    481
    370
    197
    127
See reviews for
233
631
103
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kidderminster
Level Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for one night pre-cruise. We had a cruise package which was bed and breakfast and tranfsers to and from the ship. The hotel is geared up for this and the system works well. The staff were excellent and i would highly recommend this package if you are crusing. The hotel was clean and comfortable and an excellent breakfast plenty of choice. Ideal position only about a 10min drive to ship but also we were able to work into the shopping area plenty of places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris69kidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel for your pre cruise stay.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and how our crusie and stay packages work, I will of course ensure your kind words are shared with the team.

We hope to welcome back soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely comfy hotel close to shops and to port of Southampton. The breakfasts are expensive but there is a weather spoon hotel a few doors down which is great value. Taxi to port was about £5. Good shopping district per cruise with markets and historical sites to enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at back of hotel to avoid town noise at night. We had a little cottage type room withi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann and Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, really pelased to read you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, in the future.

kind regards


Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Given the bomb damage suffered by Southampton, accentuated by the depredations of the city fathers, it's astonishing that an 18th century coaching inn should have survived at all, but that's what this hotel is. Architecturally it is fascinating, trying to piece together the various outbuildings that have been incorporated into the hotel over time. If you want bland rooms and straight corridors, this hotel is not for you: but what it offers is well-equipped rooms down slightly wandering corridors. In hot weather the rooms can be very hot. The restaurant food is good by hotel standards, and a dinner, bed and breakfast deal here offers good value. The staff are always very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and i will ensure your kind words are sahred with the team.

We hope to welcome you back on you next visit to the city.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here for a two day conference which started with an evening meal. I arrived very early in the 11th and the staff were very helpful in taking my bag while I spent the day walking around the city centre.
The staff were also very helpful in printing my boarding pass for my flight home.
All of the staff were very cheerful and had lovely smiles on their faces.
Room can become very warm an there is a lack of fresh cool air circulating around the rooms. This was especially true when we held our sessions in the Jane Austin Suite and witb the windows open it was hard to hear the spearkers at times even though amplification was present.
A very enjoyable and pleasent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuelgcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your review.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the team friendly and helpful I will of course ensure your kind words are shared with them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our room was on the third floor at the front of the hotel. The room itself was pleasant enough but only had single glazing. As it had been a warm day with the sun beating into the room all afternoon we had to leave the windows open and as a result the revellers in the TWO clubs opposite kept us awake until 3 a.m. Take ear plugs or be prepared to get hot and bothered in an airless room.

Room Tip: Do not take a room in the front of the hotel. They overlook the two clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy a good night sleep for which I sincereley apologise.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing