We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the Dolphin was clean and smart. I asked for - and got - a quiet room and it was lovely, with a comfy bed. The Dolphin is fairly close to all the shops, and very close to a fantastic Costa Coffee and a Wetherspoons (which does great food but has some questionable customers!!). I would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if that is what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, I will of courses ensure your feedback regarding the helpfulness of the staff and the good cleanliness levels are shared with the team.

We look forward to you returning in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is old.our
room was on the ground floor.The room is clean,tea,coffee,biscuits in the room.All was well until betime i was woken by a generator all through the night,this was terrible as it was the start of my holiday,No sleep.The breakfast was very good in the dining room which is upstairs,there is a lift for disabled people.

Room Tip: Ask before you book,you may get a noisy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perdita-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

Really pleased to read you found the hotel to be clean, however I was concerned to read you did not enjoy a good night sleep for which I sincereley apologise.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here one night pre-cruise.
As previous reviewers have stated the building is old, not without some character but due to the buildings age the overall layout is a bit messy and rooms are on the small side and whilst some attempt has been made to bring them up to date it hasn't been totally successful in my opinion.
It served its purpose but there are better options in Southampton although its position is not to be faulted.
We did not eat any meals at the hotel preferring the many varied options available down the road in and around the Oxford Street area.
A tip if using sat-nav. After finding the front of the hotel and finding no entrance to the car park, drive past the front a little way and turn right and then take the second turning on the right, proceed to the end and the car park is on the right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing your pre cruise stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A seasoned Mecure guest, I was a little disappointed by the Dolphin Hotel.

First impressions, decent sized car park at rear of this very old city centre hotel. Obviously constrained by the building, the layout is somewhat dis-jointed, but giving a little character.
Check-in was fine, I asked for an upgrade as an A-Card holder, was informed I had a complimentary upgrade, but clearly not to a Privilege Room. It was a bit of trek to the room up the lift, up and down half flights of stairs and down long corridors. The room was a good size and decorated like most Mecures, the bathroom was down some steps separate to the room and a little cold and stark with older fittings - not modern marble topped. Staff were friendly, well trained and courteous.
I felt the bar and restaurant prices were a little steep, but I think they cater well for the cruise ship trade and price accordingly. Southampton is a little run down despite the massive West Quay development and feel prices were OTT compared to rest of town.
Breakfast was good - but being down South there was no Black Pudding! They serve it in London Mecures & Novotels now you know!
I think the staff and management are trying very hard, given the constraints of the old building, but unfortunately it doesn't match up to other Mecures elsewhere in the UK.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and thoughts on the hotel that will help us to improve the service and products we offer.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for one night pre-cruise. We had a cruise package which was bed and breakfast and tranfsers to and from the ship. The hotel is geared up for this and the system works well. The staff were excellent and i would highly recommend this package if you are crusing. The hotel was clean and comfortable and an excellent breakfast plenty of choice. Ideal position only about a 10min drive to ship but also we were able to work into the shopping area plenty of places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris69kidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel for your pre cruise stay.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and how our crusie and stay packages work, I will of course ensure your kind words are shared with the team.

We hope to welcome back soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely comfy hotel close to shops and to port of Southampton. The breakfasts are expensive but there is a weather spoon hotel a few doors down which is great value. Taxi to port was about £5. Good shopping district per cruise with markets and historical sites to enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at back of hotel to avoid town noise at night. We had a little cottage type room withi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann and Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, really pelased to read you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, in the future.

kind regards


Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 25 in Southampton
998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £54 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing