We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 4 * Hotel - I don't think so!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A 4 * Hotel - I don't think so!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I don't know how you consider this to be a 4* hotel and if so, which organisation gave the hotel a 4* rating?. The rooms were really tatty, old fashioned and cramped - the bathroom was like going back to the dark ages, stains around the bath handles, rust I assume? The corridors to the rooms were like a prison enviroment, all grey walls, doors and skirting boards!

I guess your customers that write positive reviews are not regular users of decent hotels? Even all the dishes in the breakfast buffet were virtually cold - this was at 8,30 am???

The only positive thing I can say about the hotel is that the staff were polite and friendly but a 4* rating is an absolute joke!!!

I think the hotel should be subject to the trade descriptions act?

Appalling!

Room Tip: Book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
I am in receipt of your review, which I have to say is very out of line with the rating from previous postings. As you can see from our previous reviews we are proud of the high levels of positive feedback we get making the content of your review even more of a suprise!

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, we do have a duty manager available twenty four hours a day who could have made your stay more comfortable if you had made us aware of your concerns.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    475
    365
    196
    120
See reviews for
228
620
102
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I must admit I had read some bad reviews on trip advisor about this hotel so I was a little worried about what I would find, but my fears where unfounded, the hotel is clean the lady at reception was very friendly we had to pay £4 for parking for 24 hrs bargain! Our room was on the ground floor overlooking a little garden. The room was big enough the bathroom clean and tidy, the bath was a little old and had chips ect but no big deal. Free wifi worked well. The location is great a short walk straight up the street opposite the hotel and you find yourself in the old town near the Merchants house and the Tudor houses. I would stay here again. We also had dinner at the the pub down the road called the standing order it's a must the food was super.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suz08j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased to read your concerns were unfounded and you enjoyed your stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Southampton.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I visited this hotel whilst on some training courses for work and thought is was great, there were friendly staff and good size clean rooms. The buffet breakfast was fantastic with even more choices to order on the menu.
My only complaint would be that due to the historic nature of the building the window in my room was only single glazing and therefore you could hear the noise from the street below in the night although it was not enough to really disturb my sleep.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and will ensure your kind words are shared with the team.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel on your next visit to the city.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel. The staff treat me like part of the family and always welcome me with a very warm smile. Nothing is too much trouble for them and everyone has the time to stop and chat to you; from the senior managers to the catering staff to (my favourite) the mantainece guys.

The rooms are beautiful with everything you could need. The shower in the bathroom is powerful enough to wake you from the blissful nights sleep you'll receive. Breakfast is great too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank natmuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel.

I am delighted to read it feel like 'home from home' that is excatly what the team set out to deliver so it is great to hear we are achieving this!

We really appreciate your continued support, loyalty and business and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Brilliantly situated in the centre of Southampton 200 yards from the West Quay shopping centre. They have their own car park which is handy and only charge £4 for 24 hours parking.
Breakfast was lovely but glad we got there before the rush at 9am when people were queuing for what seemed like ages ...I would have been a bit miffed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

We really appreciate your feedback that will be used to help us improve the standards of service and facilities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Southampton.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel provided excellent value for the town centre with ample parking (only £4 for 24 hours). We were given a spacious well appointed room. Reception staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The buffet breakfast also had a great selection of quality hot and cold items.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

We really appreciate your feedback an are pleased you enjoyed you stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here 1 2 and, with 3 November with my wife.
I had previously stayed here in Cowes week and thought the hotel was generally good then and so re booked. As the hotel advertises it is very old so don't expect super modern inside, but it is very clean and the staff are all extremely polite and helpful. The lower restaurant was being refurbished and so breakfast was served upstairs in another suite, which I think put the staff under a little pressure but the breakfast and food was good. the room wads very clean but the carpet looked a bit tired
BUT why cannot the hotel group make some representations to the local police or council about the row coming from the Oasis club opposite the front of the hotel. I would have thought that the hotel contributes more to the local economy than the "people" (animals?)that seem to spend the night drunk, shouting and swearing till 2.00am on Friday and Saturday night. Avoid a room at the front!
My first stay was at the back and no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llantwitgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stays with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team professional and friendly I will of courses ensure your kind words are shared with the team.

I also appreciate and note your constructive feedback.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing