We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you do get more than you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sometimes you do get more than you pay for!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just stayed at this hotel for two nights. We payed very little for the room with breakfast included so we weren't sure what to expect. On first impressions we were happy that the hotel was so close to the centre of the town and that it has private parking (charged at £5 per 24hrs), so you can literally park up, check in and go off to wander about. The building is very old and this definitely adds to the character. All the staff were polite and helpful from the word go. The room we stayed in (109) was only a little one but there was plenty of room for my wife and I to stay comfortably for a few nights. In the mornings the breakfast was fantastic with a great range of food set out for you buffet style and you could also request extras like porridge etc from a menu. Overall we enjoyed our stay and I think a couple of the negative reviews I've read on here are people being very picky... So take them with a pinch of salt. Our only criticism was that the window frames in our room could do with a bit of paint as they were flaking but so what...Old buildings need a lot of maintenance. When we are down in Southampton again I'm sure we will be making another reservation there :-) James & Emma

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Jbm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    494
    379
    212
    133
See reviews for
242
654
107
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Myself and my partner had a lovley couple of nights at this hotel, we arrived on a Thursday, our room qasnt ready but hotel right in the High Street so great opportunity to look at shops, we went to celebrate my partners special birthday, and for that we were upgraded free of charge to a king size bedroom, which was a brilliant gesture. The breakfast was a buffet style and was lovley, staff at the bar were friendly a\nd polite, the reception and bar could be doing with being bigger as we went down for a drink but there were no where to sit in the bar area, so we decided to go out for a drink. Rooms were nice & clean - shower was out-dated and hard to control the temperature on which was very annoying, the double bed was 2 single beds pushed together,
but was a lovley stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, really pleased to read that overall your enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your constructive comments that have been noted.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed one night when working in the area. The room was clean and well appointed, roomy enough for me, may have been cramped for 2 people. Whilst the receptionist who checked me in was quite pleasant, I realised when I got to my room, I hadn't been advised about breakfast/food options.

The bed was comfortable, but I would have liked another layer since it was very chilly, but didn't feel cold enough to go and ask for one.

I was disappointed to be charged extra for parking in the carpark which obviously belonged to the hotel, and was substandard with lots of large potholes, areas roped off and was very disorganised and not well lit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmaine_chugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A good location, very comfortable, excellent food. However, Saturday dinner was accompanied by a wine demonstration to a private group on the other side of the dining room - which was distracting and somewhat odd!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank seasider-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really appreciate your feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A pleasant enough hotel in a very central position in town. The rooms are clean and reasonably well appointed if a little small. We got an extremely good deal on the price and it would be a job to find a 4 star hotel at the cost elsewhere. Breakfast had plenty of choice. Parking is charged at £5 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66_Jono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel pre assigns a room to you that cannot be changed. We arrived early after an all night overseas flight and 2 hour travel time to get to hotel only to be told that check in was not for another 4 hours! Nothing was done to attempt to make our wait any faster or comfortable. We were not alone. There were 4 other couples also waiting. Upon knowing what my room was I went up to find it vacant and housekeeping cleaning the room beside it where the occupants were just out for the day. Even at 2pm check in time our room was not ready. There was a storm outside so going out was not an option. A painful experience that almost had us searching for other accommodations while in the lobby.

The hotel is old, old, old! Very in need of new carpets and paint. The room was basic at best with a small tv, no extra sitting area or place to put luggage. It is not 4 star accommodations. The photos are a fake. From what I could tell we had one of the better rooms. Some we saw while walking to/from our room were worse.

The only good thing is the location. Great restaurants and shopping very close by.
We will be in Southampton again this year. There is no way we I'll book this hotel. We felt abused.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mightymouse51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us for which I apologise.

Having looked into the detail of your stay I understand you arrived early on New Years Day when the hotel was full the night before. Whilst we do sometimes allocate rooms we will always change this, if rooms become available earlier as you will read in some of our other reviews. As the date of your arrival was New Years Day our guests took advantage of the midday check out time so no rooms were available until later, although having checked you were checked in as early as we could which was before the guaranteed 2pm check in time.

The team and I are very proud of the hotel and work hard to do everything we can to ensure we look after our guests so I do feel some of your comments are very unnecessary and indeed unfair.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

we stayed in early January as an overnight prior to cruise. the hotel was as close to the terminal as to make transfer easy (about 2 miles tops) and was very quite. the staff (young man on reception) on arrival was professional and pleasant. There was no argument of cost that we asked to keep room till 1pm. Well done you!
The rooms all be it somewhat older were clean warm and all one needs. TV en-suite , tea, coffee etc. The odd scratch on paint and limited view were of no concern. ot was warm,safe and quite as well as close to shops and and drinks etc. weatherpoons 50 yards up!.

Room Tip: ask and they try to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoopla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel for your pre cruise stay.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 25 in Southampton
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,811 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#24 of 25 in Southampton
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing